Banana Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this recipe to take to my inlaws for dessert on thanksgiving day and out of the 4 pies that were there everyone wanted this one and it was a total hit! I also like to read reviews before I try some of these recipes and also get a little irritated when ppl rip on some the way they do! To me these are just a start of ideas and if you feel like changing things up that's your choice go for it! I don't think I every totally make a recipe the way it says! As for this recipe I doubled everything to put in a 9x13 pan. my cream cheese stayed kinda lumpy but it still tasted fine and it was at room temp no biggie! I also used half graham cracker crumbs and half honey bunches of oats w greek yogurt cereal that I put into the food processor and baked it for about 10 mins first. It was great! Thanks for the idea for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My daughter and I make this pie every year for Thanksgiving (along with a chocolate pecan pie). It is one of our favorite pies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I found this recipe to be easy.I even made it healthier, for me. I used almond milk and lactose free whipped cream from a can. I did use the softened cream cheese and found it to be agreeable to my milk intolerance.I layered the bananas and strawberries on he bottom of my pre made graham cracker crust, and topped with bananas and blueberries. It was delicious!!!! Would make it again and again.I also reduced this recipe in half and made one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Although the illustration shows a pie, this recipe is made in a 9x13 pan (or 2 pies). Very good and enough to feed a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This pie came out wonderful. I made it for a lady at my job who was leaving, and she requested that I make a banana cream pie for her party. First ever attempt at this, and it ROCKED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was very good! I do not like banana flavored things, so I used vanilla pudding instead of banana. Some reviewers said they couldn't taste the cream cheese, so I used an 8 oz package and I still couldn't taste the cream cheese but that doesn't really matter to me as I wanted to use the whole 8 oz package as not to have 5 ozs of cream cheese left rotting in the frig. :) Also some reviewers said it was too runny. The recipe says mix until thoroughly combined, but it should say until thickened. You have to mix the pudding, cream cheese, and milk at a high speed until it thickens. (Well, slow at first so it doesn't fly all over the place!) I had to use more than 5 bananas as mine were small bananas. So make sure you have a lot of bananas on hand in case you need more. Some reviewers said that they put lemon juice on the bananas that were going inside the pie, but I didn't and I didn't have a problem with them browning, even after a day or two, they didn't brown. I put strawberries on top as a garnish just for color. I think this would be good with chocolate pudding or even maybe chocolate cool whip. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
AMAZING!!!! I don't add the sugar cuz it taste better without it and less sugar is healthier ;) 4th of July tradition in my fam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Delish! Cream cheese MUST be softened. Changed the cream cheese amount to 6 oz. and the milk to just 3 cups. Also used 3.4 oz EACH of instant banana and vanilla pudding. Made filling in a food processor (easy!) Pulsed the cream cheese first (with a little of the milk)until smooth, then added the rest of the milk and pudding mix and pulsed until smooth. Poured into pie shell with sliced bananas and topped with cool whip. Result was a thicker, more custard-like pie-- YUM! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
pretty good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley(chef)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe has terrible directions. I'm not sure how all the good reviewers got the cream cheese and dry pudding mix to be smooth! If I could give zero stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States