Banana Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I have to say I was very pleased with this cake! Usually I have to change things up a bit, etc but in this case all I did was change up how much banana I used... instead of the 1 cup, I used 3 very ripe tiny bananas I have on hand and mashed them up. It probably ended up being somewhere around 2 - 2 1/2 cups but it worked out fine. Other than that, this is a great a creative twist to the typical banana cake. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunlevy, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I will try this recipe since it makes mixing baking sense. I tried a recipe of this kind from another site and it was a disaster. How could a recipe call for 1 and 1/2 cups oil for this cake? It did and though I questioned so much oil, I nevertheless used as much. What a disaster. This is my review that this recipe looks like a success waiting to be baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was awesome! Made it for Christmas and it was a hit. I think the only thing I would change is the filling amount because I didn't really have enough to do both layers the way I would have done it. Other than that it was one of the best Banana cakes i've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great texture, the filling was quite different to us, but I found if I warmed the slice 10- 15 seconds in the microwave, the flavor of the filling seemed to pop ! I didn't have any buttermilk, but used yogurt with a tablespoon of milk instead, omitted the coconut, and all was in heaven eating this cake ! Thanks Bonnie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe is SOOO GOOD!!! I didn't have cream or buttermilk...I substituted whole milk for both. I also didn't have any cake flour, so I substituted 1 3/4 C. flour, 1/4 C. cornstarch and no coconut for the tops of the cakes. I just doubled the pecan filling and put it inbetween the layers and on top with icing around the sides (like a german chocolate cake). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This cake was very good. People loved it and always said how much they could taste the banana with every bite. They were impressed that it was made with Real bananas lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This really was a good cake – delicious, moist, light and fluffy. Interesting filling, great frosting. Still, I have love/hate issues with this cake and won’t make it again. The 375 degree temperature intimidated me, so I stuck with the more conventional 350. That worked better, of course, but I still had the expected browning of the coconut before the cake was done. Not a problem, I just covered the pans loosely with foil, but I think this should have been addressed in the recipe. And speaking of coconut, it was not included in the list of ingredients, nor was any amount directed in the recipe, so I just winged it. The filling was nice, but it could have been a tad sweeter and it would have been nice to have double the amount so that it could have topped the second layer as well. As for the frosting, I knew there wasn’t going to be enough¸even with just frosting the sides. I foolishly didn’t listen to my own concerns and ended up not having as much frosting as I would have liked. It barely covered the sides of the cake, and at that, didn’t do so completely. Because of that, it didn’t turn out as attractive as I would have liked. There’s a fair amount of effort involved in making this cake so I found the issues I had with it very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made the cake as using margarine instead of shortening. The cake was great - light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
this was so moist, i am not a shortening user so i used margarine instead for cake and frosting and it turned out great. i also put my banana's in the food processor to make them smooth so the cake doesn't come out heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Pecan filling tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States