Banana Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
i used 3/4 c. of PB and i still could hardly taste the peanut butter. also the banana flavor wasnt as strong and flavorful as i like. this recipe was ok but i wont be making it again, its not worth the effort and bananas. youd be better off making just plain banana bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alley_cat13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
While my family liked this...I'm so so with it. I totally loved the batter...doesn't everyone. Any how...after baking, I didn't prefer this very well as a bread loaf. It was to dense for me and wasn't gooey like I thought it would be. And to me, it only had slight hints of peanut butter and banana. I made 3 batches as a bread loaf. But weird as it was, I made one batch of muffins out of this recipe, it didn't take long to bake about 1/2 the time and I topped them off with walnuts. I totally preferred the moisture and texture better as a muffin then the bread it's self. Weird I say. But maybe there is some logic to it. Maybe I'll try this again and add extra peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Please don't count this recipe out based on the comments from some reviewers: This can be a 5 star recipe with a little tweaking, I promise! Per the suggestion from some other reviewers, I used 3 large over-ripe bananas and increased my peanut butter to 3/4 cup. I took the flour down to 1 3/4 cups, and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla. My own little ideas were to add 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar to the white sugar (still keeping white sugar amount the same), and also adding 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce to the butter mixture (without taking down the amount of butter). I don't know if these changes are why my muffins are so much more moist than many reviewers said theirs were, but whatever I did worked!!! I also added a teaspoon of imitation banana extract, as some people thought the peanut butter overpowered the banana flavor. Also, I left out the walnuts, since I was making them for children and didn't know if they'd like the nuts. I baked them as muffins for 25 minutes and they turned out absolutely perfect!!! After doubling this recipe I ended up with exactly 41 large muffins, so not quite two dozen if the recipe had been made exactly as written (unless you wanted to make small muffins). I would recommend this recipe to anyone, using the modifications I suggested. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I just made muffins using this recipe with the changes suggested by Spongebob7, and they are amazing! I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top before baking and loved the added texture and flavor. The muffins are super moist and made my whole house smell delicious. They only took about 40-50 mins to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good recipe. I made large muffins - this recipe made 6 large muffins. I followed others' suggestions and increased the pb to 3/4 cup and decreased the flour by 1/4 cup. I used 1 cup white flour and 3/4 cup ww flour. Turned out great! I also added choc chips. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Super easy, super good!!! I followed others' suggestion and went with 3/4 cup peanut butter and less flour. I added choc chips and shredded coconut too. I had two fresh bananas, so I zapped those in the microwave for 2 minutes to make them easier to mash. I used muffin tins so only cooked for about 25-30 minutes. I also sprinkled pumpkin seeds on top prior to baking - they worked REALLY well as far as flavor. I shared these with all my neighbors and they've all asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris in Seattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I took the batter and piped it into muffin tins, then sprinkled mini-semi-sweet-chocolate-chip-morsels on the top of each muffin! (Because I forgot to mix them in the bowl at the end.) It worked just fine for the first dozen. There was batter for 7 more. I piped a layer of batter, at the bottom of the tin, then poured on a layer of mini-chips and piped a layer of batter to cover them up. They only baked for about 20 minutes when the tooth pick came out clean! :) I tried one straight out of the oven. So Very Tasty! :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
add chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
1 3/4 c flour, 3/4 c peanut butter chunky, no walnuts, 1/2 c butterscotch chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States