Banana Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this a *little* healthier by using applesauce instead of butter, wheat flour, all natural peanut butter, a little less sugar (plus some honey), and three egg whites rather than two eggs. It turned out phenomenal. I am seriously debating whether to give it away as I had planned or just eat the whole loaf for dinner and tell my friends I forgot to bake for the party... Decisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissalovescooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made suggestions on adding a few things to this recipe, but my wife said this recipe was perfect. I did add an additional banana, since I had three ripe bananas and what are you going to do with one ripe banana if you don't have a monkey. The cooking time was 90 minutes and I did tent it to prevent over browning of the top. The internal temperature was 200 degrees. Perhaps the additional cooking time was the result of the additional banana. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I cooked 'em as muffins as reviewer AMY suggested and they came out perfect in 35 mins. I do consider what reviewers suggest and boy did AMY (TY Amy) steer me in the right direction!!!! Here are her suggestions so you don't have to look for her review:3 large over-ripe bananas, increase peanut butter to 3/4 cup, bring flour down to 1 3/4 cups, add 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar to the white sugar (still keeping white sugar amount the same), also add 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce to the butter mixture (without taking down the amount of butter). I only had regular applesauce it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My family loved this!!!! Great bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this recipe into mini muffins and it was awesome. I used 3/4 Cup creamy PB and 1 3/4 Cup Flour, I also added 1 tsp vanilla as was suggested by others. I baked the muffins for 15 minutes at 325. My kids ate them up and I thought they were a great treat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good. Came out of mini loaf pan perfectly. Cooked well. Tasty. Firm, not too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I didn't even read reviews before making this, I just changed it up a bit. I used 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 white sugar, 1/2 brown sugar, crunchy peanut butter, 1 1/2 cups of bananas, and some vanilla. I also used only 2 tbs of butter and 2 tbs applesauce. I put it in a 13x9 cake pan and baked for 35 minutes. It came out extremely moist and delicious! Much better than other peanut butter breads I've baked before. I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was okay. It turned out a little dry and my family just didn't care for the peanut butter taste. We do love peanut butter, but we didn't like it in this bread. Usually banana bread is gone in 1 day in our house, but a 1/3 of this ended up sitting around for a week and was used for food for our chickens. I always like trying new recipes though and I thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Just made this and it turned out wonderful! I love peanut butter cookies and banana bread. Now I can have both at once. We didn't have any walnuts (or any nuts) available, so I used chunky peanut butter in place. Still came out great. We love that it's not super sweet or super heavy. Now that we followed the recipe (as best we could), next time we are going to try a few tweaks (i.e. a bit of cinnamon, a little vanilla). The original recipe is still very good though. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lone Star, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Best ever banana bread recipe!!!The only changes I made was the batter was really thick so I added 3/4cups of milk and it turned out perfect!!! thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States