Banana Peanut Butter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I read all the reviews, and made the following changes: 3/4 cup peanut butter, 1 & 3/4 cups flour, 2 tsp vanilla, 3 bananas, 1/2 cup no sugar added applesauce and 3 TBS of brown sugar (in addition to the 1 cup of white sugar. My oven is off so it actually baked at somewhere between 300 and 325 for 80 minutes. It made 2 4 x 8 loaf pans. I covered the loaf pans with foil about 50 minutes into the baking. It came out VERY moist with a strong Peanut Butter flavor. I can also taste the banana - but more as an underlying flavor. I will either cut the PB back to the original 1/2 cup or add a tsp of banana extract when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gansinator
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is awesome. I added 1/2 cup peach applesauce, 3 tbl spns brown sugar, 2 tspns vanilla, 3 bananas instead of 2, and for extra moisture I added 1 tblspn of oil and extra peanut butter. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
These were ok. I am not a big peanut butter fan but I do like peanut butter and bananas, so I thought these might be good. They were a little bland and a little overwheleming on the peanut butter (for me) They did not taste like banana bread to me, just like peanut butter cake muffins. Perhaps if the ratio of peanut butter to banana was different, they'd be ok. If you're looking for peanut butter these would not be bad for you at all. If you wanted banana bread with just a hint of peanut butter, you'll need to tinker with it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this exactly like the recipe suggested and I turned out beautifully. I used overly ripe bananas which mades the bread sweeter. I made this without a mixer because I didn't want to over mix the batter, which will make you bread dry. I added a peanut butter glaze to drizzle on top. Just mix together powdered sugar, peanut butter and a little bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aly13
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Easy to make but like everyone said it was a little dry. I'm going to try to modify temp and time to bake next time I make it. It was a hit with the fam so I'm happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have made this several times and it always turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi Cochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I found this recipe incorrect when it came to the baking time instructed. Mine came out dry and burnt along the crust because it was in for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Kinda dry. Next time I will make it with 3 eggs and add 2 Tbsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I was actually disappointed with this recipe. It was very dry and couldn't taste much peanut butter. I'll change it up a little next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I've had this recipe in my queue for a while and never had a chance to make it. Well, over the weekend I had some bananas that were a little too ripe for my liking so I decided to give this bread a try. I read a lot of the comments and tweaked the recipe accordingly. I used three bananas, 1-3/4c of AP flour, 3/4c of low fat smooth peanut butter, and in lieu of the walnuts, I used about 1/2c of chocolate chips. This baked up to be a really nice size bread, rose beautifully, and was nice and moist. My only issues were that I could not really taste much peanut butter (I'm not sure if it was the type of peanut butter I used, or something else) and the cooking time (for my oven at least) needed to be adjusted. I baked this in a glass bread pan on 325 in an electric oven for 70min, as suggested, however at that time the middle was still raw-ish. After 20 more minutes at that temp, and cooling on the counter, it was finally at the perfect/set consistency in the middle. Because of the longer baking time the bread browned a little more on the outside than I would have liked, but it was not burnt and still very tasty. If I make this again I think I'll try using chunky peanut butter as some others mentioned, or even a handful of peanut butter morsels, just to bring out the peanut buttery flavor a little more. All-in-all a nice, tasty banana treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States