Banana Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love the basics of this recipe. However I do make a lot of changes. Instead of using A.P flour I use all whole wheat. I also, mash the bananas before adding to the mixture. Then I have to add more milk and about 1 tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon. I make my own buttermilk also. Then while cooking, I add frozen raspberries. They turned out delicious. I've made these twice now and will more than likely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was a nice pancake recipe Sara. I used all white flour and had to skip the buttermilk since I was out. In it's place, I used an 8 oz carton of plain yogurt mixed with enough milk to make 1-1/2 cups and added about 3/4 of a cup of canned pumpkin along with some pumpkin pie spice. I also added a splash of vanilla extract to give it some extra flavor. I made "mini" pancakes for my kids to nibble on and got quite a few from one batch. They were very dense and tasted healthy with the bananas and pumpkin mixed in. Thanks a bunch for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Great recipe - easy and low-fat, but tastes luscious. Even my DH (not a whole-wheat kind of guy) loved them. Add frozen blueberries for added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
New favorite pancakes over here. It's amazing they can be so fluffy and tender without the eggs and fat. We don't usually have buttermilk on hand, so I sub with vanilla yogurt thinned with skim milk, and add half a tsp baking soda. I also mash the banana and add it to the liquid, along with vanilla and cinnamon, and brown sugar. Thanks Sara - this is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Probably will not be making these again. I have found that using wheat flour (while healthier) makes pancakes a bit chewy. Also, chopping the bananas left little banana chunks throughout the batter - the husband did not care for this. Perhaps I should have beat the batter - I just stirred it with a whisk. Overall, buttermilk pancakes is preferred over this banana version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These were good. Definitely a lot of banana flavor and very moist! I didn't have buttermilk so I improvised using vanilla yogurt and milk. I also added some cinnamon. We all thought the flavor was awesome! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
We liked this very much. I added cinnamon and vanilla as suggested. The sugar added made it difficult for me to avoid burning the surface before the inside got cooked. It might have been that I did not measure everything appropriately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I substituted soured milk for buttermilk and added two eggs. The recipe made 12 eight-inch, cake-like, hardy pancakes. My family love them. I was surprised by the lack of oil in the recipe, but the consistency was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We did not care for this recipe. We felt that the pancakes were too dense and heavy, while we prefer light and fluffy pancakes. We will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is the kids favorite! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States