Banana Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These were too heavy and felt soggy-ish. Won't use this recipe again. I am wondering if it should be baking SODA instead of baking powder in the recipe. The baking soda would react with the buttermilk to create lightness in the pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
AWESOME - used whole wheat, increased the baking poweder; tried some with chocolate chips, even better. This will be MY pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Probably will not be making these again. I have found that using wheat flour (while healthier) makes pancakes a bit chewy. Also, chopping the bananas left little banana chunks throughout the batter - the husband did not care for this. Perhaps I should have beat the batter - I just stirred it with a whisk. Overall, buttermilk pancakes is preferred over this banana version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I had the recipe calculate for 8 servings than, added 3 bannanas, 4 T oil, 1 t. almond extract, 2 eggs. It was very tasy, also I didn't have the buttermilk so I substituted 2 T vinegar in the milk & let it set 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe in a pinch if you are out of eggs! I don't keep buttermilk around either, but you can add a tablespoon of lemon juice and a teaspoon of baking soda to substitute. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and blueberries. It was wonderful. Even my picky toddlers enjoyed them with butter and powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Falls, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These are awesome, especially because I'm in college and don't have access to a whole lot of ingredients. :P So these were the ticket for me, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were awsome! Thank you for a great receipe. I omitted the two tablespoons white sugar, reduced the baking powder to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
One of the easiest, best-tasting recipes you can make from scratch. I love to make this when people come to visit me! I definitely agree with the previous reviewers that suggested adding 1 tsp of vanilla. And use the oldest bananas possible to make mashing quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We had these for breakfast this morning. My whole family loved them. We did add walnuts to the mix and fresh strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe is SO GOOD! I must admit that I came across it one morning when I didn't have the eggs I needed to make my normal pancakes and was pleasantly surprised by the results. I didn't have buttermilk either unfortunately, so I subbed a milk/yogurt combo that worked great. I also added 1/2 tsp baking soda per another review. They were incredible! We added chocolate chips for an extra treat! My toddler gobbled them up (even without the chocolate chips). THey were fluffy, tender, and delicious! Definitely try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States