Banana Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
It's amazing how the relatively small amount of banana adds so much flavour to the pancakes! Also, it's really hard to find pancake recipes that don't use eggs, and this one really is one easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Great recipe - easy and low-fat, but tastes luscious. Even my DH (not a whole-wheat kind of guy) loved them. Add frozen blueberries for added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This recipe is probably adequate for those seeking low-fat food. I made it only because I needed to use up some bananas and buttermilk, and I was disappointed. The pancakes are heavy, not fluffy. Even my kids wouldn't eat them, and they usually love pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was a nice pancake recipe Sara. I used all white flour and had to skip the buttermilk since I was out. In it's place, I used an 8 oz carton of plain yogurt mixed with enough milk to make 1-1/2 cups and added about 3/4 of a cup of canned pumpkin along with some pumpkin pie spice. I also added a splash of vanilla extract to give it some extra flavor. I made "mini" pancakes for my kids to nibble on and got quite a few from one batch. They were very dense and tasted healthy with the bananas and pumpkin mixed in. Thanks a bunch for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I liked that this recipe didn't call for eggs, as my toddler son has a mild allergy to them. I followed the recipe, but at the last minute added about 1/3 cup whole milk as my batter was quite dry. These made delicious, fluffy pancakes that were scarfed up by my hungry boys (husband included). Adding blueberries during the cooking process made them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I found the batter to be very thick and the finished product to be very doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
with my addition to the recipe it was about a 3.5. I followed the recipe to a T. The only thing that could have been better as far as following the directions were use of riper bananas. However the batter once mixed was too hard. I had to add about 1/2 cup more of buttermilk. That helped quite a bit. It was good. I will be trying it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VICKYTOM
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
The batter was too thick to handle and required more liquid. I added almost half a cup of whole milk. The pancakes were a bit heavy but the taste was ok. I don't think I will make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
If you're craving pancakes but don't have eggs, this is the recipe to use. We like regular egg buttermilk pancakes better, but this was really good. As with any pancake recipe, you need to adjust the milk until you get the consistency you like - in this case we added about 1/4 cup (soy)milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
New favorite pancakes over here. It's amazing they can be so fluffy and tender without the eggs and fat. We don't usually have buttermilk on hand, so I sub with vanilla yogurt thinned with skim milk, and add half a tsp baking soda. I also mash the banana and add it to the liquid, along with vanilla and cinnamon, and brown sugar. Thanks Sara - this is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States