Banana Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Didn't have any buttermilk so I did 1 tbsp of lemon juice and the rest of the cup of milk and let it sit for a few minutes. then I didn't have any flour so I substituted bisquick for the flour, baking powder and salt. I added cinnamon and vanilla as suggested in other reviews. My fiance says they were light but a little doughy. good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I really didn't care for these. They definitely had a lot of banana flavor but needed a little more salt and perhaps a little nutmeg or cinnamon. Did NOT like the doughy consistancy caused from no eggs. They also stuck to the griddle because of no oil. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I was home on Sunday morning with 3 kids and husband was at work. We had fresh blueberries on hand but no eggs and wanted to make blueberry pancakes. We found these. I didn't have any buttermilk, either, so mixed 1 cup of milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice. They worked well and gave us the blueberry pancakes we wanted! Thanks (They didn't taste like "health food" to use at all, unlike what others have said)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Was very dissapointed after preparing this recipe. I had bananas and buttermilk that I needed to use. Pancakes are not fluffy at all, they are very doughy. At first the mixture was thick so I added 1/3 cup of 1% milk, 1/3 cup of all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon of canola oil and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I will definitely not prepare them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
These were good. Definitely a lot of banana flavor and very moist! I didn't have buttermilk so I improvised using vanilla yogurt and milk. I also added some cinnamon. We all thought the flavor was awesome! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Very yummy pancakes. The banana gives them a great flavor. My family really enjoyed these. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The best pancakes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
When I first tasted these they seemed a touch bland, but they are just right with syrup. I expected them to be dense and they are but that's how this kind of pancake tends to be IME... I liked this recipe though I will probably play around with it next time- it does turn out to be a good way to get some fruit and whole grain into my picky kid, and filling too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I love the basics of this recipe. However I do make a lot of changes. Instead of using A.P flour I use all whole wheat. I also, mash the bananas before adding to the mixture. Then I have to add more milk and about 1 tsp of vanilla and some cinnamon. I make my own buttermilk also. Then while cooking, I add frozen raspberries. They turned out delicious. I've made these twice now and will more than likely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made these for lunch today, and they were very good! I was looking for an egg-free pancake recipie since I was out of eggs. I was out of banana's, too, so I substituted applesauce, made my own buttermilk, and added cinnamon and raisins... the children really enjoyed them! (as did I)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States