Banana Oatmeal Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I used 1/2 cup wheat flour + 1/4 all purpose, then used a flax substitute for the eggs because I was out. The taste is amazing and it's incredibly moist, but the texture is probably crumblier than if I'd used real eggs. I'd actually cut back on the crumb topping--it's bordering on too much sugar for me. But based on the other reviews, this is probably just because I don't have much of a sweet tooth. Anyway, I'd still highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Yummy cake! The recipe works very well if you replace butter with cream or yoghurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Really good. Needs just a bit more butter in crumb topping, but tastes just like banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Shakir
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Yum! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Shakir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Delicious! I substituted one-quarter cup cocoanut oil for the butter & it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious alternative to banana nut bread! My family loved it, especially when we added a sweetened dairy component to the top. Highly recommend (just with a bit of ice cream or whipped cream)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLynn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this yesterday it is delicious. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLynn
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a really good coffee cake! We are trying to cut back on our sugar intake, so for the cake, I used 1/3c brown sugar and 1/3c Stevia and for the topping, I cut the brown sugar to a little less than 1/4c and added 2tsp cinnamon and 1/4tsp nutmeg. Everyone loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13, baked at 350 for about 40 mins. My family loves this including my boyfriend who doesn't like bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this in a muffin version for brunch at a friend's house. Against my tendency to add in random things and not measure when baking, I mostly stuck to the recipe this time. However, I did add in maybe a half cup of bourbon. I tasted the muffin that night and it was OK, but by the next morning for brunch, the flavors had melded together so well. So, I would highly recommend cooking this the night before you plan to eat them, and if you are able to add in some bourbon, it really adds another layer to the flavor. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States