Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These are awesome. I had a ton of black bananas in my fridge (they make the best bread) and wanted to use them up. Wanted a change from banana bread so I tried this recipe. Changed it slightly: omitted the nutmeg (didn't want it to taste like banana bread), omitted nuts (didn't have), used 1/2c shortening and 1/4 butter, and increased the oats to 2c. Also added a splash of milk (eyeballed it, maybe 1/8c) and 1/2 t vanilla. Fantastic unadulterated banana flavor. Just make sure to watch them carefully, mine came out perfect at exactly 9 min at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmm, these are so good. Definitely for lovers of banana bread. I used 1/4 of applesauce instead of the same amount of Crisco, and half brown sugar instead of white. So, so so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
A very good cookies, tasting like a bit of banana bread. I made a double batch of these for my hubby to take to the office and they got rave reviews. However, I baked them for 11 minutes as they got too brown at 400 degrees for 12 minutes; when this adjustment was made, they were a dark brown on the bottom rather than a nice tan color. I also tweeked this recipe by using 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder for increased height of the cookie with no harm done. Delicious with coffee or a cold glass of skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! We followed the recipe exactly and these are a big hit with the kids, me, and the lifeguards at the pool! Definetely a great way to use those last 2 over-ripe bananas from the bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I loved these- My son has dairy allergies so I am always looking for something with no butter. I love bananas and these were very flavorful and my son loved them too. With the fruit and oats- we use them as breakfast cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
What a great cookie! I love bananas, hubby loves oatmeal....I came out the winner in this one. Doesn't take too "oatmealish". Tastes more like banana bread. No matter, hubby enjoyed them just as much as I did. I followed the recipe exactly on this one and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These are YUMMY! Very cake-like and moist. Super easy and fast cooking. I used applesauce instead of an egg and the batter is just as delicious (and safe!) as the end product. =) Highly recommended recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
At the last minute, I remembered that I had promised to bring treats to my soccer team. I had ripe bananas, and wanted to use them up, so I tried this recipe on the theory that it sounded a little odd, but might be great. I made the cookies without the nuts, since I have a nut-allergic boy on the team, and they were a HUGE hit. They were soft, moist, and flavorful, and the boys all loved them, even the picky eaters. I will definitely make these again - I'd like to make them with walnuts or pecans for home consumption, and I think they'd be great with chocolate chips, as well. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Excellent cookies...like my own tiny little banana bread bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These are great. They have a really interesting texture. They are cakey, but the oatmeal makes them less cakey than other banana cookie recipes I've tried. I doubled the spices, and added 1/2 c chocolate chips. I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States