Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These cookies turned out really well. I agree that 15 minutes is too long to bake them. I made them healthier by substituting 1/2 applesauce for shortening, 1/2 whole wheat flour, and 1/2 brown sugar. My 2 year old son and husband both love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I have made these very same cookies for many years, except I add 6 oz. of chocolate chips to it. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love these cookies!! My 5 year old loves them too!! Tasty and a great way to use bananas that have gotten too ripe to just peel and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I replaced most of the shortening with applesauce and added chocolate chips. These are moist chewy and delicious. I will be making these every time I have overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good "different" cookie. I used 2 large bananas, 1 small can of crushed pineapple, and some coconut. They were big and soft and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by lisajez
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Tweaked the recipe a bit to make them a really yummy low fat treat by cutting the butter in half, and substituting the remainder with apple sauce. Also added a cup & half of raisins/craisins and some flax seeds. They came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Well, after mixing together all the dry ingredients - I discovered I only had 1/4 c. crisco (butter flavor). So, I substituted the remaining 1/2 c. with butter. I really didnt pay attention to the temp/time as my oven runs hot so I started them at 350 and once golden brown around bottom edge I always turn the temp down to about 250 until the middle is done - but leaving the cookie still soft. These turned out GREAT! Soft and chewy and very moiste with great banana flavor. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was looking for a way to use up some ripe bananas and oats and am glad I came across this recipe. These are yummy cake-like cookies! Since we are also trying to eat healthier I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpse flour. I also substituted 1/2 c. brown sugar for 1/2 of the sugar and used coconut instead of nuts (personal preference) as one user suggested. I also decided to add 1/2 tsp vanilla to the egg/banana mixture, but you could add up to 1 tsp. I thought it added a nice flavor. Also, being the chocolate lover that I am I added in a few chocolate chips to my last batch of cookies. Next time I might try substituting applesauce for the shortening to make it even healthier. I too found that about 9-10 minutes at 400 degrees was plenty of cooking time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Tastes like banana bread w/ texture of oatmeal. I changed 1/2 c white flour to wheat flour. Yum. Very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I just tried this recipe. It was very simple to put together. 15 min. is a bit too long to bake them. 9 min was perfect. I did not like the taste. i found them quite bland. Maybe they would be better with nuts added. My family does not like nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States