Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I altered these slightly but dang they are good! They turned out really muffin like in texture, but they're still yum. I personally don't like using shortening, so I used 1/4 cup butter and a half cup of applesauce in its place, I also cut the sugar down to about 3/4C. Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Love these! They are a great way to use up ripe bananas. Remind me of banana nut muffin tops. I followed the recipe exactly except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I will consider adding raisins in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious cookies. For health concerns, I had to substitute the shortening for becel olive oil margarine and the egg for "egg creation" liquid egg white, but it worked out perfectly. I did add chocolate chips and 1tsp cocoa for my chocolate craving but I'm sure they would have been delightful without it. The texture is soft and yes cake like, but I like them this way. A perfect little desert. My baking time was 10min but then again my oven is not new and tends to bake a little hotter. I gave it 4 stars because of the changes, but a definite 5 stars for taste. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe; a nice change from banana bread. I didn't have the nuts so I added extra oats, though I will try them with nuts the next time I make these. They were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. After I put one cookie sheet in the oven, I added raisins and flax seeds to the remaining dough. Both versions were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! I replaced 1/4 cup of the shortening with apple sauce and cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. They came out great. More of a muffin texture than a cookie but still great! Made some for a friend and her two year old daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I wanted a Gluten free option to use up my old bananas. Used 1/4 cup applesauce cut down on the butter, 1/2 & 1/2 white/brown sugar, mini chocolate chips, added some baking spice and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Used gluten free all purpose baking flour and gluten free oats. Seemed a bit runny but spooned it out in small amounts made the perfect size cookie and was not cakey. Used wax paper because they seemed a bit sticky but baked until the edges were really brown and they came out great. Not dry or hard. Just right. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Yummy! They remind me of the cookies my mom used to make. Like little bites of banana bread. In fact, if I call them "Banana Oatmeal cookies" my kids won't eat them. But if I call them "Banana Bread Bites" they gobble them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought these were delicious! Loved the cakey texture. I subsituted chocolate chips instead of nuts, and used half butter/half applesauce, instead of shortening. Cooked for bout 12-13 minutes. Boyfriend and my mother loved them! Both are health freaks and gobbled them up when i told them they were on the "low fat" side. Def will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
these were very good my boys (3years & 18 months) loved them. I didnt add nuts but I did add raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I added a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg, also omitted the walnuts (didn't have any). None the less, they came out PERFECT! I would recommend this to anyone and will defiantly make again! I would recommend refrigerating the batter for a few before baking, so they don't flatten out. Again, I love this cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States