Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I just tried this recipe. It was very simple to put together. 15 min. is a bit too long to bake them. 9 min was perfect. I did not like the taste. i found them quite bland. Maybe they would be better with nuts added. My family does not like nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
These are very easy and soo delicious! They are like a little bit of banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very moist & yummy!!! Like little banana breads-yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Pretty good cookies. I subbed brown rice flour for the all-purpose and used all butter instead of shortening. Used 1/2 cup raisins instead of nuts. Also used EnerG egg replacer (my son has an egg allergy). Baked the cookies for 13-15 minutes per batch and they came out brown and crispy on the edges and outside and soft on the inside. My husband even liked them, and he's not a big fan of oatmeal cookies. Will use 1/2 the sugar next time because really ripe bananas give these cookies plenty of sweetness. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Having some elderly bananas on hand I decided to give this recipe a try. Yummmy, these are wonderful! I made a couple of changes to the recipe as written. I creamed the shortening, egg, sugar and banana together and then added the dry ingredients. I used pecans in place of walnuts, due to allergies. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I ended up with 4 1/2 dozen cookies, which I'm sure will disappear as soon as the family comes home. Wonderful banana taste without being overpowered by the oatmeal in a soft cookie. I would recommend watching the baking time. 15 minutes would've been too long in my oven; my batches averaged about 11 minutes. Thank you for a tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I may have used to much banana in my recipe because they came out like muffin tops, which wasn't bad, but I wanted a cookie more than a muffin. They were very good reheated and everyone I shared them with thought they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These are awesome. I had a ton of black bananas in my fridge (they make the best bread) and wanted to use them up. Wanted a change from banana bread so I tried this recipe. Changed it slightly: omitted the nutmeg (didn't want it to taste like banana bread), omitted nuts (didn't have), used 1/2c shortening and 1/4 butter, and increased the oats to 2c. Also added a splash of milk (eyeballed it, maybe 1/8c) and 1/2 t vanilla. Fantastic unadulterated banana flavor. Just make sure to watch them carefully, mine came out perfect at exactly 9 min at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmm, these are so good. Definitely for lovers of banana bread. I used 1/4 of applesauce instead of the same amount of Crisco, and half brown sugar instead of white. So, so so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
A very good cookies, tasting like a bit of banana bread. I made a double batch of these for my hubby to take to the office and they got rave reviews. However, I baked them for 11 minutes as they got too brown at 400 degrees for 12 minutes; when this adjustment was made, they were a dark brown on the bottom rather than a nice tan color. I also tweeked this recipe by using 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder for increased height of the cookie with no harm done. Delicious with coffee or a cold glass of skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! We followed the recipe exactly and these are a big hit with the kids, me, and the lifeguards at the pool! Definetely a great way to use those last 2 over-ripe bananas from the bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States