Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
YUM! I used 1/2 cup shortening and added 1/4 applesauce and used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar. These are cakelike and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I make these all the time! sooo moist! I hate to waste ripe bananas so they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
These cookies turned out really well. I agree that 15 minutes is too long to bake them. I made them healthier by substituting 1/2 applesauce for shortening, 1/2 whole wheat flour, and 1/2 brown sugar. My 2 year old son and husband both love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I have made these very same cookies for many years, except I add 6 oz. of chocolate chips to it. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I love these cookies!! My 5 year old loves them too!! Tasty and a great way to use bananas that have gotten too ripe to just peel and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I replaced most of the shortening with applesauce and added chocolate chips. These are moist chewy and delicious. I will be making these every time I have overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good "different" cookie. I used 2 large bananas, 1 small can of crushed pineapple, and some coconut. They were big and soft and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by lisajez
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Tweaked the recipe a bit to make them a really yummy low fat treat by cutting the butter in half, and substituting the remainder with apple sauce. Also added a cup & half of raisins/craisins and some flax seeds. They came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Well, after mixing together all the dry ingredients - I discovered I only had 1/4 c. crisco (butter flavor). So, I substituted the remaining 1/2 c. with butter. I really didnt pay attention to the temp/time as my oven runs hot so I started them at 350 and once golden brown around bottom edge I always turn the temp down to about 250 until the middle is done - but leaving the cookie still soft. These turned out GREAT! Soft and chewy and very moiste with great banana flavor. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was looking for a way to use up some ripe bananas and oats and am glad I came across this recipe. These are yummy cake-like cookies! Since we are also trying to eat healthier I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpse flour. I also substituted 1/2 c. brown sugar for 1/2 of the sugar and used coconut instead of nuts (personal preference) as one user suggested. I also decided to add 1/2 tsp vanilla to the egg/banana mixture, but you could add up to 1 tsp. I thought it added a nice flavor. Also, being the chocolate lover that I am I added in a few chocolate chips to my last batch of cookies. Next time I might try substituting applesauce for the shortening to make it even healthier. I too found that about 9-10 minutes at 400 degrees was plenty of cooking time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States