Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made these wheat-free by subbing 1/2 oat flour and 1/2 rice flour for the all-purpose flour and adding a little xanthum gum. (Not sure how much, off the top of my head.) I used butter instead of shortening. I slightly softened it, then mixed it with the sucanat with my mixer. I used Sucanat in place of white sugar and left out the walnuts due to allergies. I know this rating may not help others due to all my changes, but these cookies were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were excellent! They tasted just like the best part of banana bread...the crusty edges!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made as is the first time. The second time I added chocolate chips. I also did one stick of butter and a 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Awesome! I used vegetable instead of shortening and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I altered these slightly but dang they are good! They turned out really muffin like in texture, but they're still yum. I personally don't like using shortening, so I used 1/4 cup butter and a half cup of applesauce in its place, I also cut the sugar down to about 3/4C. Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Love these! They are a great way to use up ripe bananas. Remind me of banana nut muffin tops. I followed the recipe exactly except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I will consider adding raisins in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious cookies. For health concerns, I had to substitute the shortening for becel olive oil margarine and the egg for "egg creation" liquid egg white, but it worked out perfectly. I did add chocolate chips and 1tsp cocoa for my chocolate craving but I'm sure they would have been delightful without it. The texture is soft and yes cake like, but I like them this way. A perfect little desert. My baking time was 10min but then again my oven is not new and tends to bake a little hotter. I gave it 4 stars because of the changes, but a definite 5 stars for taste. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe; a nice change from banana bread. I didn't have the nuts so I added extra oats, though I will try them with nuts the next time I make these. They were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. After I put one cookie sheet in the oven, I added raisins and flax seeds to the remaining dough. Both versions were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! I replaced 1/4 cup of the shortening with apple sauce and cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup. They came out great. More of a muffin texture than a cookie but still great! Made some for a friend and her two year old daughter loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I wanted a Gluten free option to use up my old bananas. Used 1/4 cup applesauce cut down on the butter, 1/2 & 1/2 white/brown sugar, mini chocolate chips, added some baking spice and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Used gluten free all purpose baking flour and gluten free oats. Seemed a bit runny but spooned it out in small amounts made the perfect size cookie and was not cakey. Used wax paper because they seemed a bit sticky but baked until the edges were really brown and they came out great. Not dry or hard. Just right. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States