Banana Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
These are delicious and a great use for overripe bananas. I make big batches and freeze them for my kids lunches, I just pull them out the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are great! I used 1/2 C brown sugar and 1/2 C regular sugar. Also subbed 1/2 C of the shortening with peanut butter. Baked 350 for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I used 4 tbsp of butter and made up for the rest of the fat with another banana. While my bananas were incredibly ripe, the cookies were still barely sweet. I'd add a couple of tbsp of honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made it almost as stated except was short on shortening so I used 1/4 c applesauce. Also added a touch of cardamon and dried cranberries. I did, however, forget to add the oatmeal! The second half I got some in there and honestly? Either way was good! Soft and chewy, cake-like and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great way to use up ripe bananas if you don't want to make banana cake. I used Stevia Crystal instead of sugar, and subbed applesauce for some of the shortening - the rest I replaced with butter. Also used a mix of whole wheat flour and white. Added more spices. Great basic recipe that you can pep up as you like. I also recommend baking for only 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I really like this recipe. These remind me of my Mom's banana nut bread. I cut the size but followed it other than using butter & coconut oil for shortening. They freeze very well, I made a dozen & froze 8 in two packs. Kinda of nice to just pull 2 out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Made these this afternoon and everyone loved them. I read the other reviews first and made some minor tweaks, too. Substituted some apple sauce for some of the butter, and half as much sugar but used brown sugar. Left out the nuts so the kids could take them to their nut-free school for snacks. Finally, also cut the baking time down to about 10 minutes. They came out crispy on the outside but nice and soft in the middle, like mini muffin tops. They were great! Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by winterr
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Yummy cookie. Soft light love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winterr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This is an awesome cookie. Don't swap butter for the Crisco; it's much heavier and will change the taste and texture, competing with the banana flavor. When baked on parchment at 400, the bottoms were brown after 8-9 minutes. These cookies are cake-like and do not spread much, so you can add that extra row on the cookie sheet without overlap. I added 1/2 cup golden raisins. Next time I'll increase the nutmeg to 1/2 teas and the cinnamon to 1 full teaspoon. I brought them to work and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SinfulSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
They taste like little banana bread cookies..We liked them!! I didn't use the shorting,instead I used 2 Table spoons of the Parkey fat free calorie free spray butter. I didn't have any rolled oats but I did have the instant prepackaged low sugar Cinnamon spice oatmeal I used 3 of them. I try to tweek recipes as much as I can to make them as healthy as I can and they turned out really good!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States