Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup of butter, 5 bananas (about 2 cups mashed). I used 2 1/4 cups of white whole wheat flour. I used about 2 cups chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Very good! Used a couple bananas that were about to be thrown out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Yes, a bit cakey, but who cares! These were awesome! I just realized that I actually added a whole cup of bananas... Shortening weirds me out, so I used butter instead. I also put a cup of chocolate chips instead of the walnuts. I am mailing them, so I'm a little worried about how they'll hold up... fingers crossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I doubled the recipe and used 3 bananas and margarine instead of crisco. I also added coconut and chocolate chips. I don't always measure but I would say maybe 1 cup of coconuts and 2/3 of a bag of chocolate chips. They came out super moist. My office is raving about them today and they are super moist. Definately going to be a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
We love these!!! Wow! I did follow the addtions as above. They were so moist. Because I have young children I replaced walnuts for raisins. I added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract for additional flavor and did use butter shortening instead of regular. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I really had to tweak this recipe to get it to where I thought it would be good. I used only 1/2C shortening (next time I'll use butter but I was out) and used a little extra mashed banana instead. I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4C and used a 50/50 blend of w.w. flour and white. I substituted 1/2C of chocolate chips instead of walnuts. I think using half rolled oats and 1/2 quick cooking oats would be a better texture as they are really chewy. Finally, they need AT LEAST 10 minutes if not 12-13 minutes of cooking time. Mine were a bit undone at 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
My daughter loves bananas and asked me to try and find a banana cookie recipe to add to our Christmas tray. I used two whole bananas and added cinnamon chips to the dough. I'm glad I chose this recipe because they turned out even better than I had anticipated. Thanks Lois and Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
good not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I really liked this recipe and so does my hubby. He doesnt generally like anything with banana in it, so it was a surprise that he liked these. A different twist on oatmeal cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christos&Lesya
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Simple light taste.Banana cake like.We will try a next variation with prunes or-and dates.The bananas we had was not ripe so we bake in a moderate oven for few min some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christos&Lesya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States