Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I decided to make this recipe after a long search trying to decided what to do with a few ripe bananas that I had. I thought maybe this would yield cookies that were not cake-like....but that's not the case. However, these cookies are really good! I kept mine in the refrigerator; they're delicious cold. I did use butter instead of shortening and subbed dried cranberries for the nuts. I'm glad I did because the cranberries were AWESOME. My last thought: a little peanut butter would be really good either mixed into the batter, or use peanut butter chips. That's what I'm trying next time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Though I tweeked this a litte bit these cookies came out like minibite size banana breads. I used butter instead of shortening, three ripe bananna and dates instead of nuts. Since my batter was a tad wet I baked at 375 for 10 mins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McMccormick78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These were more cake like than we liked. My husband said something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Good. Omitted the walnuts and worked out fine. These would freeze well. Moist, with a notable banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were the best ones. I added dried blueberries, cocnut and M&Ms. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These are yummy! I used a total of 3 bananas (recipe is about 2), 1/4 cup more oats and a bag of white chocolate chips. A hit because they aren't cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epiphany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alpine, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Great flavor, just didn't stay together. I used 4 bananas so I think that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
AWESOME! Use these changes for perfect cookies! replace 1cup whole wheat flour for the white, cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. add 1 beaten egg white with the egg. this while help the dough from getting dry and will help them rise. flatten cookie on cookie sheet(they will rise). bake 10 min. Rasins work as a good sub. for nuts. suggestion: if you really want a banana tase sub 1/2 vanella extract for banana extract. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic_mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
They didn't raise but had a nice subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
For those of you who complain about the texture after changing the ingredients--using margarine or butter instead of the shortening the recipe calls for drastically changes the texture of the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States