Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very tasty. I modified it a bit to siut my needs, by adding only 1/4 cup unsalted butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesausce in place of the shortening. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup (we don't like super sweet cookies). I didn't have cloves so I left those out and added 1/2 baking powder as suggested by another reviewer. They taste just like the banana nut bread! Mine did not spread (probably due to the modifications I made with the shortening). But as long as you flatten them out a bit before or after you stick them in the oven they are fine and to me it's worth the calories saved. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Added chocolate chips and left out cloves don't really like cloves except lol, with ham. The cookies were very bananaish my new word, chewy and soft not bad if you like banana. Did have to add a bit more flour about 1/2 cup dough looked a bit too wet, after I flattened them. Did not taste like a muffin top more like a banana flavored oatmeal cookie. Don't know if I would make again but it was something different :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Really good! The only change I made was to use butter instead of shortening, because I always feel shortening gives an "after-taste" in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These are amazing! I didn't have any shortening so I used a 1/4 cup butter and two bananas. I also added 3/4 cup of raisins. They have great flavor and very soft. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This cookie is a real hit at our house. (no changes made to the recipe) We especially like how the cookie is crispy on the outside yet moist on the inside ..... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianesdishes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I was looking for something other than banana bread to bake with my ripe bananas and I really enjoyed these cookies...I used butter shortening, 1 cup chopped pecans (isntead of the walnuts) and I added 1 cup milk chocolate chips. As suggested by others, I added one extra mashed banana and 1/2 cup oats; I doubled the baking soda, doubled the cinnamon, and deleted the cloves. I flattened the cookie drops a bit, then baked for 12 minutes. Delicious...everyone loved them! Eating the cookies, I kept expecting to bite a raisin, so I may add raisins next time; maybe I'll try a version with white chocolate chips to see how that turns out! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
fabulous..chewy, moist and great flavor. I used about 4 bananas, added 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. A dash of pumpkin pie spice for the clove...also added a handful or two of chocolate chips in one batch...so yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I followed the directions exactly and these were not that great. I liked the flavor, but found the texture to be lumpy and dry. They definitely did not spread out like the picture shows. I decided to use the remaining half of the batter and make them into thicker bars by spreading it all into a 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very yummy and moreish. I used olive oil spread (same consistency as soft butter) rather than shortening, plus used raw cashews instead of walnuts. They have a soft cakey sort of consistency rather than a hard crunchy cookie but still very nice. I found they needed about 12 minutes cooking time. They look quite under done when they first come out but firm out while they cool. Kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These cookies were really good, but I made many changes and they turned into more of oatmeal clusters. I used applesauce and egg whites, no salt, doubled the banana and cut the sugar in half, so i wouldn't expect them to turn out exactly the same, but they tasted great anyway. Plus, they were a great, healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenzieKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States