Banana Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These turned out really well, but I made a few tweaks. I substituted the 3/4 c shortening for 3/4 c unsweetened applesauce, used two bananas (about 1 c), used whole wheat flour instead of white, and added pumpkin pie spice as recommended. I omitted the walnuts and cloves since I didn't have any at hand. I was a bit worried about how the changes would work, but it's actually very good. They do not spread as much and are more rounded. I probably could have pressed them out a bit. Definitely worth trying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I used butter and no nuts. These were amazing! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious cookies! used raisins instead of walnuts (didn't have any at home). Will make them again, rich, soft and a bit cakey. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The cookies were alright, I took them into work for my co-workers to try and they all thought they were weird and didn't like them. I think I'll just stick to making banana bread or muffins and adding chocolate chips to them instead, I didn't really care for the oatmeal in these cookies otherwise I thought they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mialynn0991

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made these with butter instead of shortening. They were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I didn't have enough rolled oats so I used one and a half cups and they came out awesome! I might try it with the 3cups to see, mmmmm yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
These cooloes tastes too good and are healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Made as directed. We liked the spiciness of the clove and cinnamon. Will try pumpkin spice next time just to see if it changes at all. Another favorite spice I like to use with banana breads/cookies is cardamom. If you want an extra kick add about 1/4 tsp. of cardamom and try brandy extract instead of vanilla. As for cookie texture--it didn't flatten out at all. We pulled the sheets at 10 minutes, flattened each cookie and baked an extra 2-3 minutes. They came out a bit soft, but they firmed up after 10 minutes of cooling. Good way to enjoy your oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Love them! I went with butter instead of shortening, more cinnamon, and whole wheat flour. Wonderful and healthy for a cookie. Sure to be a favorite around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are the best banana oatmeal cookie I have ever made and, at 63-years of age, I have made a lot of cookies. I did substitute coconut oil for the shortening (didn't have any) and added about a cup of raisins (soaked them in warm water for about 10 minutes and then drained off excess liquid). This recipe is on the top of my cookie recipe list. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States