Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good cookie! I made a few adjustments - used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white. Also, used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce to make it a little healthier. These taste like muffin tops to me (pretty cake-y), but personally I like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were just "ok". Very chewy, but not much banana flavor. Not a big hit at our house, but an interesting combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherene4572

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good. Soft cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Not sweet enough to be a great cookie. Tastes like a muffin, but in a cookie shape. I was hoping for more of a crunchy or chewy cookie, and these are soft and cake-like. I'd rather make a banana loaf in comparison to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSWEET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These cookies are good. I only used 1/4 teaspoon cloves and upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and added 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg. The recipe makes more than 24, I got almost 6 dozen cookies. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These are awesome! I made some suggested modifications: 1/2c white sugar 1/2c brown sugar, 1/2c butter 1/2c applesauce, 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of cloves, and 2c chocolate chips. They are tasty and delicious, just the right amount of banana flavor. Cakier than your average cookie, but I like chewy cookies, so it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
The only thin I did differently was used butter instead of margarine. They turned out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These cookies are SO yummy! I too made some modifications... INGREDIENTS: 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup butter, 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, 4 ripe bananas, mashed, 2 cups rolled oats, 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 1 cup peanutbutter chips. I used about 3/4 of the batter to make bars (in a bar pan). I baked the bars at 375 for 20 minutes and it came out perfectly. I still had enough dough leftover to make 2 dozen cookies. I'm headed to the store to buy a tub of cream cheese frosting for my bars! YUM. **Also, this recipe makes much more then the 24 stated. Unless those are 24 HUGE cookies. I could have gotten 6 doz. good sized cookies with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These were good.. a very nice change from the regular banana bread/muffin recipes. My kids and husband loved these and they were gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made these changes and they're SOOO yummy!!! My dad and I ate them out of the oven and they have wonderful flavor and texture. Half white half brown sugar, all butter, all spelt flour, 1 tea salt, 1/2 tea nutmeg (omit cloves), and double the cinnamon banana and oatmeal. I split the dough in half and added milk chocolate chips in one and walnuts in the other. The walnuts bunch won with the family by far. The texture of the cookies tastes like the center piece of banana bread, real soft and chewy, just how we like it:) UPDATE! I just made these again today for a family get together and they got RAVE reviews. My mom and grandma who try to stay away from cookies couldn't keep their hands off them, hehee! :) And the boys gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States