Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Not bad! I added dried blueberries, cocnut, and M&M's. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Changed the cloves to nutmeg but otherwise left alone. Light and tasty. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were good, but I changed the ingredients to make them a little less rich, as I wanted to give them to my kids. I cut the butter in half and replaced the butter I cut with applesauce. This added a ton of moisture, and cut the fat big time! I also used 1\2 whole wheat flour, and substitued nutmeg for the cloves, and added 1\2 dark chocolate chips and half milk chocolate chips. I also used quick oats in place of rolled, because that's what I had on hand. All in all, basic substitutions. I agree that these came out very cakelike- almost like little mini banana breads. I know that some of that had to do with the whole wheat flour, but knowing what I know about baking, these would have been very cakelike anyway. However, they are delicious, and my 2 year old devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very yummy cookies, good recipe. I just changed it a little, only put 1/2 tsp of ground cloves and 3/4 cup of white sugar. They came out wonderful - really soft and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANETTYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Mmmm yummy! Mine didn't really spread out at all in the oven, so next time I'll make sure to flatten them a bit before baking. Followed the recipe exactly, baked for 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Made these with Splenda and Egg Substitute. Great taste and texture..just like my Mom's recipe for oatmeal cookies. AND these are SO easy to make! They'll be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
The cookie was good but it is more of a muffin than a cookie. Very soft and cake like. Flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Substitutions: apple sauce (margarine), dark brown sugar (white sugar), whole-wheat flour (flour); Added: dried blueberries, raisins; Changes: 4 bananas (only because I had them); Bake Time: 20+ mins (waited to brown on sides and checked bottom was browned); Results: more cake-like consistency, tasty, right sweetness, wished it was more like the store-bought texture of oatmeal raisin cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The recipe was easy to make and tasted great. The only issue that I had was the cook time. When I make other cookies I take them out when they start to brown and they finish browning on the pan before I move them to the rack to cool. These did not brown any more once I removed them from the oven. I ended up cooking them longer to get them to brown, which made them taste the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were really good but they were "cakey" as other people pointed out. I did add 1/2 tsp of salt to the recipe because I feel like cookies need salt and I used chocolate chunks instead of chips. I took them to a dinner party and they all got eaten by the end of the evening. I also noticed that the cookies seemed to get softer not harder as cookies usually do, as if they absorbed moisture or something. I called them banana bread cookies and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States