Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Really yummy. on teh chewy side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I just made this today....It is so good! Can't wait for the kids to get home so they can try them! The only thing I did different was use just 2 bananas for that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DQISAQT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are REALLY yummy! They're like a piece of banana bread with a bit more substance because of the oatmeal. I made a few switches, though. I used brown sugar instead of white, butter instead of margarine, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg instead of cloves, and milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet. I think these could definitely be made into a healthier version. I'll try a whole-wheat version next time...maybe throw in some flax-seeds, too. This recipes is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These are very good! After reading the reviews, I was worried that they would be too cake-like, so I added a small box of instant vanilla pudding to the flour mixture. I also considered the comments about too much clove flavor so I used 1/2 tsp of allspice instead of the 1 tsp cloves. Everyone in my family loves nuts, so I added a cup of finley chopped walnuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Thanks so much. I love banana bread but was getting a little tired of it. I also love that I have another recipe for cookies. I prefer to make cookies for my kids so that I know what's going into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Reminded our girls night of muffies! It was the perfect treat paired with a frothing chai, nados, and Say Yes to the Dress! Very enjoyable cookies and easy to make (when you have four people)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Not too bad! I made some modifications similar to another user - used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used about half a tsp of nutmeg instead of cloves simply because I don't have any cloves. I thought they were a bit floury tasting and might try using 3 cups oats and 1 cup flour. I'm not sure if that will work or not. I will also add the bananas last next time so that I have some banana pieces instead of just the flavor. These are not your traditional cookie, but that should be apparent. I thought they were good and even my picky 16 year old daughter liked them. I have dough in the fridge for the weekend and I bet they'll taste even better after the flavors have blended more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent!! I just made these and they are perfect! They are quite cake-like but thats exactly what I was looking for. I only made a few adjustments due to supplies on hand. I only used 2 bananas (all I had) and replaced the cloves with 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I made 1/2 a batch with chocolate chips and the other with dried cranberries. I have tried many recipes on this site and I am happy to say that this is the first time I have written a review because it's the first time I have felt compelled to do so! :) I imagine the negative reviews are simply from a matter of taste. These are delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaryan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A bit too cakey for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bonner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I debated rating this recipe since I revised it so much but I did enjoy my cookies so I decided to share anyway. I know most banana and oat cookies are cake like which I still enjoy. However, it has been my experience the more bananas included the less likely for it to taste as well after a couple of days, so I only put in one banana. To add some additional flavor I put a couple tsps of coffee to the mashed banana (I got this idea from a muffin recipe that had turned out well) and let it sit for 10 minutes before commencing with the rest of the recipe. For the spices I did 1/4 tsp cloves, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I didn't think chocolate chips sounded very good with those spices so I did as another suggested and added dried cranberries and dried blueberries (technically mine were cranberries that were "blueberry juice infused" by ocean spray). To cut some additional calories I cut down on the margarine to 3/4 cup and the sugar to 3/4 cup as well as changing to 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup regular sugar. On top of all these changes I also tested out the quantity of the oats. I did the batch with 1 cup then split the batch in half and added 1/2 cup oats to one batch and left the other half as is with 1 cup's worth of oats. I thought both batches turned out well to me the additional oats made the cookies slightly more cake like but my hubby said the opposite. As I enjoyed the one with less oats more but my husband with more oats I will make again the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States