Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My children (5 & 7) loved these cookies. My 5 year old, who is a very picky eater, commented "You should make these every day!" I substituted butter instead of margarine and raisins instead of chocolate chips. These cookies are moist and cake-like, much more fun than banana bread. Next time, I plan to use brown sugar and white sugar. The spices were just right. The recipe made 3 dozen large cookies, which my boys were eager to share with the other kids in the neighborhood, who liked them too. Tip: Save your overripe bananas in the freezer. When you are ready to use them wash the peel right off under warm running water and defrost the inside of the bananas in the microwave. That way, when your urge to bake hits you, you will always have overripe bananas on hand. And they never have to go to waste when you are too busy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was a great recipe. Super banana flavor. You need to use very ripe bananas to get the stronger banana flavor. Almost totally black. I put in 1/2 t. salt and 3/4 t. soda. Just changed a little according to the reviews I read. I used raisins instead of choc. chips. I bet choc. covered raisins would be good. Anyway, not as cakie this way. Best banana cookie recipe I've ever used. Thanks so much!! For sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These are great!!! One adjustment was I added a 1/4 cup more sugar. Otherwise, these were moist, delicious cookies!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These cookies were pretty good. Since I was trying to make a quick batch of cookies using some very ripe bananas, I tried to only use what I had on hand so I had to make a couple of substitutions. I didn't have any cloves so I used a little nutmeg instead. Next time I would up that amount a little...maybe 1/2 teaspoon. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet. After the first batch it seemed that they needed a little boost, so I added a dash of salt to the remaining dough. This helped a lot, but it could have used a bit more, maybe 1/8-1/4 teaspoon. My daughter who loves soft cookies liked this one best, even more after the addition of the salt. If I make it again I'll probably use raisins instead of chocolate chips. Overall, an okay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a very cake like cookie - I think it could use more oats to make it more cookies like. I followed the recipe with the exception of subbing half the marg with applesauce. Pretty good just not what i was expecting from the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great cookie!! I did modify recipe-substituted 1 cup splenda for sugar, substituted 1/2 cup applesauce & 1/2 cup butter flavored crisco for margaring, used 3 eggs & substituted 1 cup flour with 1 cup oatmeal flour (I ground oatmeal into flour)-I will make this over & over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was looking for a sort of breakfast cookie for on the go and this one was great. I did some changes as other mentioned- 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup margarine, 1/2 cup of applesauce, no cloves but added a shake of pumpkin pie spice and a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon, 1 cup choc. chips, and 2/3 cup mini choc. chips. These are very much like muffin tops or cake so we called them "cakies" instead of cookies. Give them a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good cookie! I made a few adjustments - used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white. Also, used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce to make it a little healthier. These taste like muffin tops to me (pretty cake-y), but personally I like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were just "ok". Very chewy, but not much banana flavor. Not a big hit at our house, but an interesting combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Johnson Hendrix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good. Soft cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States