Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This makes an excellent cookie. My mother used to make a cookie like this when I was a little girl. I can't remember if her's was as cake like but I think it was close. Either way, we really love these. I did a few things different. I replaced over half of the butter with applesauce and I used brown sugar as well as white and added in some walnuts for crunch. I think the applesauce, oatmeal, and bananas makes it a good cookie to give children. It's a little healthier than your normal chocolate chip cookie! Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I revised the receipe. Instead of chocolate chips I have used dried cranberries and dried blueberries. Everyone loves the cookies. Another thing I have learned is cook all of your cookies on parchment paper and never melt your butter in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
When I made these cookies I used 1/4 tsp nutmeg in place of the cloves. I kept the cinnamon the same amount. It turned out great, they are moist chewy cookies. I took them to work and they were gone. I've had several requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Yum! My family gobbled these up. I will make two changes next time: only 1/2 tsp. of cloves, and I will change the sugar to 3/4 white and 1/4 brown. They also freeze very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Pretty darn good! I only used 2 bananas and added about 3/4 raisins instead and they worked and tasted GREAT! Kevy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
Huh? I don't know what recipe some of these guys followed...these cookies are yummy! I always add more spices than recipes call for, and since we're at a higher altitude I have to add more flour/oatmeal, but these are really good, moist, and flavorful. A nice change. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I know most banana cookies are cake like--thats the part of the recipe we liked. We didn't care for the way the spices tasted with the chocolate chips--maybe too much ground clove?? I may try this again and decrease the clove, increase the cinnamon and maybe add some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
These cookies were great. Not bland at all. Healthier than your average cookie and the kids ( 1 & 3 ) loved them! Could use a little more sugar (but I like them the way they are) probably just a 1/4 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
These cookies were very disappointing. I made them twice because I thought maybe the first time I did something wrong. They weren't tasty and were cakey and almost like muffins. Nobody ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Disgusting. Cake-like and gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States