Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Has potential...I agree with some others it wasn't sweet enough to be like a cookie, also I just used cinnamon and not cloves or nutmeg...I would double the cinnamon...or maybe my cinnamon is old, it needed more flavor overall, but was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
WOW!!! I have to start off by saying I HATE banana's, but these cookies are sooo super moist and soft. It's like I'm eating a mini banana bread only 10 billion times better. The only changes I made are adding pecans instead of chocolate chips and changed the cloves to 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I thought these cookies were great. Soft and cakey and perfect for kids. I bet they would be awesome crumbled into a bowl of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radgrl3256

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA
Living In: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
The cookies turned out moist and cake like which I liked. However, they were very bland tasting and disappointing. Won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I'm not a cookie baker but it turned out good my family loved them. now I'm waiting for the results from the children in school because I made them for my grandaughter's class. I substituted raisins for chocalate chips I don't like chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
1)I only had whole wheat flour, and they were still good...kindof like bite size banana bread, just perfect for little fingers ;) 2)I used butterscotch chips, which went quite nicely with the clove and banana. For those who wanted this sweeter, just add more chips. 3) I added 1/2t salt. It slightly brings out flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I've been trying to find a banana cookie recipe to use up ripe bananas, and finally this is it! This cookie is nice and chewy and has a lovely warm flavour from the cinnamon and cloves. Next time I'll try it with raisins. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
These were OK. I think maybe bananas don't belong in cookies. I love banana muffins, bread, etc. but in cookies it just made them too puffy and soft without enough sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These are so freakin' good!! I used 1 1/4 cup whole grain flour and 3/4 cup white flour, just under 1 cup sugar, and added an extra cup chocolate chips. I also added an extra VERY ripe banana to the wet ingredients before adding the flour mixture. Baked at 375 for 10 minutes! So moist and just awesome. Can't say enough about these. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These are pretty good. I made them exactly according to the recipe. They turned out very soft and fluffy, cake-like. The cinnamon and cloves compliment the banana flavor. I think raisins would be a better addition than chocolate chips and that is what I will do next time. Another great recipe for my overripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States