Banana Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a very cake like cookie - I think it could use more oats to make it more cookies like. I followed the recipe with the exception of subbing half the marg with applesauce. Pretty good just not what i was expecting from the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great cookie!! I did modify recipe-substituted 1 cup splenda for sugar, substituted 1/2 cup applesauce & 1/2 cup butter flavored crisco for margaring, used 3 eggs & substituted 1 cup flour with 1 cup oatmeal flour (I ground oatmeal into flour)-I will make this over & over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was looking for a sort of breakfast cookie for on the go and this one was great. I did some changes as other mentioned- 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup margarine, 1/2 cup of applesauce, no cloves but added a shake of pumpkin pie spice and a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon, 1 cup choc. chips, and 2/3 cup mini choc. chips. These are very much like muffin tops or cake so we called them "cakies" instead of cookies. Give them a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alsip, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good cookie! I made a few adjustments - used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white. Also, used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce to make it a little healthier. These taste like muffin tops to me (pretty cake-y), but personally I like that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were just "ok". Very chewy, but not much banana flavor. Not a big hit at our house, but an interesting combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherene4572

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good. Soft cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANIE4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Not sweet enough to be a great cookie. Tastes like a muffin, but in a cookie shape. I was hoping for more of a crunchy or chewy cookie, and these are soft and cake-like. I'd rather make a banana loaf in comparison to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These cookies are good. I only used 1/4 teaspoon cloves and upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons and added 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg. The recipe makes more than 24, I got almost 6 dozen cookies. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These are awesome! I made some suggested modifications: 1/2c white sugar 1/2c brown sugar, 1/2c butter 1/2c applesauce, 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of cloves, and 2c chocolate chips. They are tasty and delicious, just the right amount of banana flavor. Cakier than your average cookie, but I like chewy cookies, so it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
The only thin I did differently was used butter instead of margarine. They turned out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States