Banana Oatmeal Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy. They are good plain but I added a quick frosting on top. 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tbsp of milk, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. They were delicious and my picky kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made these as part of our Christmas cookie tray! People were fighting over them and Grandma hid some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe...made it the first time today with bananas my husband swore wouldn't be good in anything, but he changed his mind once these cookies were cool enough to eat! Thank you for sharing; I will be making these again. For those of you who had problems with the bottom of the cookie getting too brown, try baking them on parchment paper. My cookies were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Delicious -- a big hit with the grandkids!! I made the recipe exactly as printed other than doubling it because I had four really ripe bananas and only baking them for 9 minutes at 400 degrees. The double batch yielded 75 cookies using my 1 tablespoon cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Everyone loved them. I thought it was good. Will make them again, especially for Chloe, but it is more of a cake-y cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These cookies are very good. I made the following changes which I think give them a 5 star rating. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, I added a tsp of vanilla extract, I did not have any eggs on hand so I substituted 2 tbsp of Hellman's mayo, omitted nutmeg and put in only 1/2 tsp cinnamon and added 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips. Also I baked them at 350 for 15 mins and they came out perfectly golden. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made these as birthday treats and they got rave reviews from my friends after a run! In fact, I had planned to take them to work the next day, but there weren't enough left! Also, I did add some chocolate chips and used 1/2 C peanut butter and 1/4 C butter to replace the shortening! I didn't think the PB came through very much and would try making it with 3/4 C PB in the future if I wanted that flavor noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Great recipe! It was like eating a slice of banana bread; cakey and moist on the inside, and adding a crunchy oatmeal layer around it. Truly wonderful. Next time however, I will reduce temperature to 350F. At 400F as written in the recipe, I had too much browning at the bottom before the tops were set enough. Storing in an airtight container made the cookie soft through out (although I put them in after cooling compeletely). But that's how the kids like their oatmeal cookies anyway:)) winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
this recipe is very similar to my mom's. I couldnt get a hold of her this evening and I needed to get a huge bag of over ripe bananas out of my freezer so I used this recipe. I doubled the recipe (I still have bananas left) but the only 2 things I did differently was left out the nuts (I like the nuts but my 5 year old doesn't in cookies for some reason) and I substituted 1 cup of shortening with 1/2 cup of applesauce (what my mom always did) and they turned out wonderful, almost as good as my mom used to make them!!! thanks all recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great idea to use up bananas! Just a little bland so definitely add that swirl of frosting to jazz them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States