Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to a T, except I cut the sugar in half. They were delicious. I've tried lots of banana bread recipes, and this one is the best! I baked as muffins, also, and they turned out equally good. It's flexible, too, you can add in coconut or nuts, but even without it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is a very versatile recipe. While I know that not everyone appreciates reviews of recipes when changes are made, I felt I should let everyone know that this one is a good base. After promising my kids that we'd make muffins, I realized we were short on ingredients. I scrapped the original recipe, found this, made some substitutions and it worked great! We made half a batch and got 24 mini-muffins (took about 12 minutes to bake). We used softened butter for the shortening, brown sugar for the white sugar, no vanilla (I was out), no milk (how'd I miss that?!), pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon (heaping), pumpkin for the banana, and chopped apple for the raisins (about double the amount - I'm sure this moisture made up for the missing milk). So we ended up with Autumn Muffins (per my 7 year old) and they are very good. I can't wait to try the recipe the way the original chef intended it...then again, it's fun to experiment too :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is by far my favourite recipe for Banana bread. I only had 1/4 cup left of shortening though, so I substituted the other half with margarine. I also added 1/4 cup of fresh blueberries instead of raisins. It was absolutely delicious. I have printed this for my personal book and will definitely be making this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! It's my go to banana bread recipe! I adjust it by making muffins and baking them for about 15 min. (Started checking around 12 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made these as muffins. They were delicious! Would be better with walnuts. Also, I didn't have enough bananas so I added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila L.
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best banana bread recipe EVER! This is my very favorite recipe for banana bread as it is written. But today I found out at the last min I was out of cinnamon. I substituted some pumpkin pie spice a little ginger and a little nutmeg. It is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Amazingly good, Used half white/brown sugar. Used sunflower seeds too. Inexpensive to make, eat your heart out Panera Bread, LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sak421
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is by far the BEST banana bread recipe I made.. It was gone within minutes after I made it !! Two thumbs up from everybody .. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This bread was wonderful and I love the texture the oatmeal gave it, I did tweak the recipe like others, I used 1/4 c of applesauce and 1/4 c of coconut oil, I also used 1 tsp of vanilla. I made the batter and added 1/2 c of walnuts, poured out 1/2 the batter in a smaller loaf pan. Then I added 1/4 chopped dates to the remaining and poured that into a smaller loaf pan. My family doesn't like dates, but my boyfriend does. Hence 2 loafs. I cooked those for 45 mins and they were done. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States