Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yummy! I adjusted to fit ingredients on hand with no problems. Replaced w/ 1/4c whole wheat flour, and 1/4c brown sugar. Used half butter and half canola oil, buttermilk, 3/8c applesauce + 3/4c banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I have using this recipe for a few years now, but never rated it. Excellent, hearty bread! I make half the flour whole wheat, put in pecans instead of raisins and also add 1/2 cup of sour cream or yogurt. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! I modified it by using unsalted butter instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. So moist any yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Everyone Loved it ! Wonderful! Left out the raisins though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe, however I always make a double batch. We freeze our bananas as they are turning and just get them out when we have enough for a loaf or two. I add walnuts instead of raisins and it's great. For those saying the texture isn't good, this is a very dense heavy bread because of the oatmeal. I do add two tablespoons of brewers yeast and substitute 1/4 cup of flour for 1/4 cup of ground flax seed (and one tablespoon of milk) as well as the 1/2 cup of butter/ 1/2 cup of applesauce. This is my 'nursing' bread recipe to boost milk production in lactating moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The flavor was very good, not the family favorite but up there. Good color and banana flavor. As with other dense sweet breads I make, the center remained a little raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I'm not used to write reviews, but this banana bread definetely deserves it!!! It's simply delicious and healthy! My husband and daughter loved it! I've done it four times already, and they don't get tired of it. Perfect for breakfast, or just to share it with some friends, which I did and they were surprised it was banana bread, they said it definetely has not the oily consistency other banana breads have! It's with no mistake, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I found this recipe quite disappointing. Though it had a lovely flavor (though a bit sweet for my taste)it was way too moist and did not set at all. I would omit the milk and reduce the sugar by a quarter cup if I were to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was good. It would be best with walnuts or chocolate chips. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used brown rice flour, almond milk and honey (only 1/2 C.) instead of what the recipe suggests. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States