Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I used butter (about 6 tbs), walnuts instead of raisins, and I ground up the oats into a flour in a blender before using them, and used whole wheat instead of all purpose flour. My bread turned out really, really delicious. I have tried many banana bread recipes but this is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cicischwartz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was an excellent recipe - I was looking for a banana oatmeal bread recipe that would use up the ingredients in my kitchen instead of going for my quick and easy bisquick route. This totally hit the spot. The combination of cinnamon and vanilla was completely unexpected but added to the bananas and oatmeal. The bread was also super moist. Will be making again, but doubling the recipe! Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made it with the raisins and it was excellent! I plan to try it again with dates instead of raisins, and maybe some fresh raspberries another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Light, moist and flavorful. I used 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 c butter in place of the shortening, and reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I also used old fashioned oats in place of the quick rolled oats, and soaked them in the milk and applesauce while assembling the other ingredients (adding the oat mix with the whole raisins). Finally, I added a pinch of ground cloves and a tablespoon of ground flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good. Very moist and dense. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Yummy! I adjusted to fit ingredients on hand with no problems. Replaced w/ 1/4c whole wheat flour, and 1/4c brown sugar. Used half butter and half canola oil, buttermilk, 3/8c applesauce + 3/4c banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I have using this recipe for a few years now, but never rated it. Excellent, hearty bread! I make half the flour whole wheat, put in pecans instead of raisins and also add 1/2 cup of sour cream or yogurt. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious!!! I modified it by using unsalted butter instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup white sugar 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. So moist any yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Everyone Loved it ! Wonderful! Left out the raisins though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe, however I always make a double batch. We freeze our bananas as they are turning and just get them out when we have enough for a loaf or two. I add walnuts instead of raisins and it's great. For those saying the texture isn't good, this is a very dense heavy bread because of the oatmeal. I do add two tablespoons of brewers yeast and substitute 1/4 cup of flour for 1/4 cup of ground flax seed (and one tablespoon of milk) as well as the 1/2 cup of butter/ 1/2 cup of applesauce. This is my 'nursing' bread recipe to boost milk production in lactating moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States