Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not bad. It was kinda greasy, a little bland, kinda flat. I think with some small tweaks, this recipe will turn out to be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I thought this recipie was great I added pecans and also use buttermilk a little over 1/4 cup. Two and a half bananas moist, delicious. Had no trouble at all with it not rising. Loved the addition of oatmeal also thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Changed just a couple things: used half applesauce half butter, half brown sugar and half white and used old fashion oats instead of the quick cooking. I am eating it hot out of the oven and its really good! It will be interesting to see what it tastes like when its cooled but i suspect it will be amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was a yummy bread, I subbed rolled oats and it turned out good : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theauthenticnut

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a snap to make and the results were delicious! I usually like nuts in my banana bread but my husband doesn't so I didn't add any. I was pleasantly surprised that the oats give just enough texture to give this bread good mouthfeel without needing to add nuts. Loved it and will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
OMG! This is a great recipe. To say the bread is moist is an understatement. We used red bananas and no raisins. YUM!! My 10 year old made it and nailed it without too much assistance from me. We'll try out other recipes and compare the results. This should be fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
WOW. This is yummy. I will definitely be making it again. I made according to directions except that I added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed to the batter. I baked it for 60 minutes at 350. It fell in the middle where it was undercooked so next time I'll be keeping it in the oven longer. But at the rate we're gobbling it up, it won't last two whole days. Even my picky toddler ate it and asked for more. I had been searching for a recipe that was slightly healthier than my favorite banana bread (made with butter, sour cream, and chocolate chips, it that has a zillion calories). Looks like I got my wish. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
this has to be the most amazing banana bread i have ever made. i didnt change a thing. you will not be sorry making this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmorrissey04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherrills Ford, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My family is not a big fan of banana bread but this was so moist and tasty, it was gone in a matter of hours. As some reviews suggested, I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup coconut oil for the shortening and coconut milk for the milk because I had it and it made it a little healthier. I also baked it in a bunt pan and sprinkled a few sliced almonds on top for looks. I cut the baking time by about 10minutes so just keep an eye on it. Thank you for this recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
WELL... I changed things but this was a good starting place. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup softened butter, old fashion oats (because that's all I had), a little extra vanilla, and half brown sugar and half white sugar. everything else was the same and it turned out moist and yummy. It seemed thin when I put it in the pan but cooked well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States