Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Loved this. I used coconut oil instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. We didn't have rasins, so I threw in some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Johnson
Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great bread. Used butter in place of shortening (1 cube plus 2 T), added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and golden raisins. Used 3 bananas. Baked about 25 minutes in 9x9 square cake pan. Didn't find the loaf pan and it's so moist that I thought it might have been difficult to slice as a loaf. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I used 1/2 whole wheat flour. Yummy. Yummy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Smashing success! I took the advice of some of the other reviews and substitute 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter for the shortening. My fiance couldn't get enough! He actually finished the entire loaf in about 2 days. He apparently shared some with a co-worker who has already asked him when I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This recipe is very simple and tasty. The loaves are not too sweet. I added 1 cup pecans instead of 1/2 cup raisins (I like nuts), and 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup shortenning. Turned out great. Looks nice if you sprinkle the loaf with some oatmeal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Just made this and it is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Used walnuts instead of raisins and doubled the recipe. My Mom and I didn't even let a speck of batter go to waste. The bread is done now, warm, and delicious. It's a little crumbly and I'll be greasing the pan better next time, but the 8 strap pan size loaves will probably be gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Excellent tasting loaf! I love the texture of the oatmeal and the feeling that it`s healthy to eat! I use 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the shortening and I use Splenda in place of the sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Awesome! Used butter instead of shortening, chocolate chunks and cut the sugar with splenda, half and half. Didn't save all that many calories in the end, but didn't hurt the flavour any! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Stop looking, this is THE BEST banana bread. So moist, so flavorful. *I used coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Strange texture and no taste. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States