Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent! I used half quick and half regular oats. Next time I will not use quick at all, I like the texture of regular oats best. I added mini chocolate chips. Really good flavor and texture!! It makes a large loaf and I probably over cooked it just a bit to make sure the center was done. I will cut the cooking time next time by a few minutes for sure next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
So good! I made them into muffins because I didn't want to wait an hour to cook. I made 24 from the amount in the recipe, filled about 1/2 way. I baked them at 350 x 19 minutes. I did sub the shortening for 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I also added about 1/4 - 1/2 cup more flour. I used 3 mashed bananas. They tasted great, good texture, and they were very moist. I had been looking for a recipe to use overripe bananas and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was a great bread! I used splenda and I added a cup of sugar free chocolate chips in place of the nuts and raisins. This bread is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not bad. It was kinda greasy, a little bland, kinda flat. I think with some small tweaks, this recipe will turn out to be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I thought this recipie was great I added pecans and also use buttermilk a little over 1/4 cup. Two and a half bananas moist, delicious. Had no trouble at all with it not rising. Loved the addition of oatmeal also thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Changed just a couple things: used half applesauce half butter, half brown sugar and half white and used old fashion oats instead of the quick cooking. I am eating it hot out of the oven and its really good! It will be interesting to see what it tastes like when its cooled but i suspect it will be amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was a yummy bread, I subbed rolled oats and it turned out good : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theauthenticnut

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a snap to make and the results were delicious! I usually like nuts in my banana bread but my husband doesn't so I didn't add any. I was pleasantly surprised that the oats give just enough texture to give this bread good mouthfeel without needing to add nuts. Loved it and will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
OMG! This is a great recipe. To say the bread is moist is an understatement. We used red bananas and no raisins. YUM!! My 10 year old made it and nailed it without too much assistance from me. We'll try out other recipes and compare the results. This should be fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
WOW. This is yummy. I will definitely be making it again. I made according to directions except that I added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed to the batter. I baked it for 60 minutes at 350. It fell in the middle where it was undercooked so next time I'll be keeping it in the oven longer. But at the rate we're gobbling it up, it won't last two whole days. Even my picky toddler ate it and asked for more. I had been searching for a recipe that was slightly healthier than my favorite banana bread (made with butter, sour cream, and chocolate chips, it that has a zillion calories). Looks like I got my wish. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States