Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 27 servings as I had 10 bananas to use up. I used 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 5 eggs, 1 tbsp vanilla, 2 3/4 cups Robin Hood whole wheat and flax flour, 2 3/4 cups rolled oats, 3 tsps baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 10 bananas and a heaping cup of mini chocolate chips. I omitted the salt and milk as it was not needed. This recipe has 2 main flaws, not enough flour and rolled oats and not enough leavening, the formula for leavening is 1 tsp of baking powder to 1 cup flour and 1/4 tsp baking soda to 1 cup of flour. I made muffins out of the recipe, my #50 scoop yielded 29 muffins that baked in 23 minutes, they were nicely domed and very tasty and healthy! Good recipe that just needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
trying this recipe today also substituting raisins with chocolate chips smells delicious can't wait to taste. rating 4 on smell alone for now...lol. okay so i ate it and it is delicious changing to a 5 star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticake507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodPlease!
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Just tried this out in order to get rid of some old bananas and this is pretty good! I used 3 bananas and followed the recipe, but used a little less sugar (around 3/4 cups)and added walnuts. This was still a bit too sweet for my taste, but it's not bad. I love the crispiness of the top and edges the best, and it's very moist inside! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Yummy! We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yummy!! What I really liked was the hearty oatmeal. I did make some additions, I chopped 2 apples and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla, this was gone in my house. Just delicious. I set some cream chesse out, it was evil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've used a few different recipes for banana bread recently and this one is my favorite. Even my nightmare apartment oven managed to produce a tasty loaf of moist, golden-brown bread. I followed the recipe exactly and my only gripe is that it was a little sweeter than I like banana bread to be, so I'll cut back the sugar by a quarter cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 3/4 C Chopped Walnuts, and 3/4 Chocolate Chips. Very moist and I love the texture the oatmeal and walnuts give it. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I added flax and walnuts at the end. I also made them into muffins and baked them for 30 minutes at 350. I will definitely be using this as my go to banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe. Yummy! I added 1/2 cup chopped walnut instead of raisins. I also used old fashioned oats, instead of quick cooking. Cooked for 57 minutes and it may have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this using some healthy modifications- used maybe 2/3 or 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/5 BIG bananas, and whole wheat flour. I also used butter because I don't have shortening. And I added chocolate chips, because chocolate is good for the soul. I also used flaxseed substiute (1 T ground + 3 T water = 1 egg) for the egg. And like others have said, my bread didn't rise very well- it rose a little and fell. Tastes delicious still. However, I was wondering if the recipe ought to call for baking powder instead of soda..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States