Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! I also added 1/2 butter, 1/2 applesauce in place of the shortening, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was great last time but we added chopped walnuts as well. Very good. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cutegrl05
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! It came out super moist, I too substituted shorting with 1/2c applesauce and 1/2c butter. I also added 1 cup of walnuts, definitely a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutegrl05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe if you like oats or a texture like nuts in your banana bread. I substituted the shortening with unsweetened applesauce except for 2 1/2 tblsp. unsalted butter, used liquid eggs for the eggs, and used only 3/4 cup sugar. I only used 2 medium bananas, did not add the salt and only some of the milk. The bread baked very well and even with a wonderful aroma and was very moist and delicious. This is a healthier recipe (minus the shortening) than some other versions. My hubby loved it saying the texture of the oats offset not having any nuts in it. I personally don't like nuts in my deserts and this is a good alternative if you don't either but next time I will decrease the amount of oats used since I think it has a little too much. Otherwise it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Best banana bread I ever made. Moist and light. I replaced shortening with butter and added mini chocolate chips. My kids can't get enough of it. I doubled the ingredients and made 2 loaves and baked about 65 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe is almost identical to the one I've made for years but I use only 1/2 cup of sugar (the bananas make it plenty sweet) and add 1 tsp. making powder, which helps it rise. And no raisins. It's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is good. I didn't feel like getting out the beater to cream shortening and butter, so I subbed canola oil. The result was a fairly wet dough, so I omitted the milk. I also subbed chocolate chips for the raisin. Topped with oats before baking which gave it a nice toasted oat flavor and slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I was looking for an easy Oatmeal Banana Bread recipe which this is definitely not, but the little time it takes is very much worth it. I set out all my ingred. last night. It's like a big oatmeal cookie, all crunchy on top. I love it. I made a glaze of oj, pow.sugar and butter - just a little of each (didn't want icing), and drizzled after the 5 minute covered period. It's so good, love it, definitely going to file it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Excellent1 I used plain yogurt instead of milk because I had some but otherwise, no adjustment needed..Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Delicious! I used buttermilk instead of milk and organic non-hydrogenated shortening (Spectrum). Tahoekathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States