Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
As I refuse to use shortening or lard, I substituted butter. Made this in a muffin tin as I needed it to be portable. I also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and peanut butter chips. If you are worried about it being dry, you can add more banana and a touch more milk. These turned out very moist - reeses peanut butter cups meet bananas - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
AMAZING! Loved this recipe! I changed 1/2 t. cinnamon to 1/4 t. cinnamon and 1/4 t. nutmeg. I didn't have a full 1 1/2 c. banana so just added about 1 T. more milk. Old fashioned rolled oats worked just fine. I also added 1/3 c. sliced almonds with the chopped raisins. I knew there was more batter than a loaf pan so used a greased 8x8 pan and adjusted the cook time to 43 minutes. It came out perfectly. I love love love this banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 27 servings as I had 10 bananas to use up. I used 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 5 eggs, 1 tbsp vanilla, 2 3/4 cups Robin Hood whole wheat and flax flour, 2 3/4 cups rolled oats, 3 tsps baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 10 bananas and a heaping cup of mini chocolate chips. I omitted the salt and milk as it was not needed. This recipe has 2 main flaws, not enough flour and rolled oats and not enough leavening, the formula for leavening is 1 tsp of baking powder to 1 cup flour and 1/4 tsp baking soda to 1 cup of flour. I made muffins out of the recipe, my #50 scoop yielded 29 muffins that baked in 23 minutes, they were nicely domed and very tasty and healthy! Good recipe that just needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
trying this recipe today also substituting raisins with chocolate chips smells delicious can't wait to taste. rating 4 on smell alone for now...lol. okay so i ate it and it is delicious changing to a 5 star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticake507

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodPlease!
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Just tried this out in order to get rid of some old bananas and this is pretty good! I used 3 bananas and followed the recipe, but used a little less sugar (around 3/4 cups)and added walnuts. This was still a bit too sweet for my taste, but it's not bad. I love the crispiness of the top and edges the best, and it's very moist inside! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Yummy! We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Yummy!! What I really liked was the hearty oatmeal. I did make some additions, I chopped 2 apples and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla, this was gone in my house. Just delicious. I set some cream chesse out, it was evil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've used a few different recipes for banana bread recently and this one is my favorite. Even my nightmare apartment oven managed to produce a tasty loaf of moist, golden-brown bread. I followed the recipe exactly and my only gripe is that it was a little sweeter than I like banana bread to be, so I'll cut back the sugar by a quarter cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I added 3/4 C Chopped Walnuts, and 3/4 Chocolate Chips. Very moist and I love the texture the oatmeal and walnuts give it. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States