Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I added flax and walnuts at the end. I also made them into muffins and baked them for 30 minutes at 350. I will definitely be using this as my go to banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Followed the recipe. Yummy! I added 1/2 cup chopped walnut instead of raisins. I also used old fashioned oats, instead of quick cooking. Cooked for 57 minutes and it may have been a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this using some healthy modifications- used maybe 2/3 or 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/5 BIG bananas, and whole wheat flour. I also used butter because I don't have shortening. And I added chocolate chips, because chocolate is good for the soul. I also used flaxseed substiute (1 T ground + 3 T water = 1 egg) for the egg. And like others have said, my bread didn't rise very well- it rose a little and fell. Tastes delicious still. However, I was wondering if the recipe ought to call for baking powder instead of soda..?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This has a wonderful taste and texture. I did add a rounded 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, subbed dried cranberries for the raisins (I didn't have raisins), used butter instead of shortening, and added a handful of pecans. Next time, I'll try adding some wheat germ and bran and reducing the shortening and sugar, possibly adding some applesauce instead. A great breakfast bread spread with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Came out alright - just didn't care for it. Think it was just personal taste with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Sub'd butter for the shortening since that's what I had. Made (29 lg) mini muffins. The flavor and texture are wonderful! But the domes leave much to be desired. In the next batch, I'll reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I'm not usually a huge fan of banana bread, but I just made this using nuts instead of raisins, and it is really good! Very moist with a lot of texture and flavor. Can't wait to see how my husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made this into muffins, baked at 350 for 15-17 min and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Only had two bananas so I added a 4oz jar of banana baby food. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Baked this and turned out great Instead of shortening I used half butter and half applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States