Banana Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! It's my go to banana bread recipe! I adjust it by making muffins and baking them for about 15 min. (Started checking around 12 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made these as muffins. They were delicious! Would be better with walnuts. Also, I didn't have enough bananas so I added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila L.
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best banana bread recipe EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Amazingly good, Used half white/brown sugar. Used sunflower seeds too. Inexpensive to make, eat your heart out Panera Bread, LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sak421
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is by far the BEST banana bread recipe I made.. It was gone within minutes after I made it !! Two thumbs up from everybody .. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This bread was wonderful and I love the texture the oatmeal gave it, I did tweak the recipe like others, I used 1/4 c of applesauce and 1/4 c of coconut oil, I also used 1 tsp of vanilla. I made the batter and added 1/2 c of walnuts, poured out 1/2 the batter in a smaller loaf pan. Then I added 1/4 chopped dates to the remaining and poured that into a smaller loaf pan. My family doesn't like dates, but my boyfriend does. Hence 2 loafs. I cooked those for 45 mins and they were done. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Most banana breads seem to use oil instead of hard fats, but as I refuse to use shortening or lard, I substituted butter. Made this in a muffin tin as I needed it to be portable. I also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and peanut butter chips. If you are worried about it being dry, you can add more banana and a touch more milk. These turned out very moist - reeses peanut butter cups meet bananas - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
AMAZING! Loved this recipe! I changed 1/2 t. cinnamon to 1/4 t. cinnamon and 1/4 t. nutmeg. I didn't have a full 1 1/2 c. banana so just added about 1 T. more milk. Old fashioned rolled oats worked just fine. I also added 1/3 c. sliced almonds with the chopped raisins. I knew there was more batter than a loaf pan so used a greased 8x8 pan and adjusted the cook time to 43 minutes. It came out perfectly. I love love love this banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 27 servings as I had 10 bananas to use up. I used 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 5 eggs, 1 tbsp vanilla, 2 3/4 cups Robin Hood whole wheat and flax flour, 2 3/4 cups rolled oats, 3 tsps baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 10 bananas and a heaping cup of mini chocolate chips. I omitted the salt and milk as it was not needed. This recipe has 2 main flaws, not enough flour and rolled oats and not enough leavening, the formula for leavening is 1 tsp of baking powder to 1 cup flour and 1/4 tsp baking soda to 1 cup of flour. I made muffins out of the recipe, my #50 scoop yielded 29 muffins that baked in 23 minutes, they were nicely domed and very tasty and healthy! Good recipe that just needed some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States