Banana-Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Okay, so am I the only one who threw in some dark chocolate chips? Served it with our meal last night. Delicious...the whole family raved! And, nobody asked for dessert afterward -- that was a first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I doubled the bananas and substituted 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1/2 c. yogurt for the tbsp of called for baking powder. It got great reviews in my nursing class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette Banda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This banana oatmeal bread was very good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe! I added about 1 cup or so of mini chocolate chips, just for a chocolate kick. It was gone in about a day! I have already made this two times and can not wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years and finally thought to comment on it. It's fantastic ... the only banana bread we ever make. I'm baking 2 loaves now to feed parents at my son's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Turned out great; I followed the suggestions of others, so that in the end I had the following changes: Replaced all the white flour with whole wheat (minus 2 tbsp, which I replaced with 2 tbsp of ground flax seed), replaced all the oil with applesauce, used 2 whole eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, and just under 1 cup of brown sugar. I also topped with some sliced bananas and oats. The applesauce adds some sweetness, which is why I cut down some on the brown sugar. If you really like things sweet, I'd suggest keeping the entire cup though. Next time, I'll add banana slices throughout the batter, along with the mashed bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made a vegan variety of bread using this recipe replacing the eggs with Ener-G and used rice milk. Absolutely delicious, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I was looking for a banana bread with oatmeal that did NOT use a saturated fat and didn't have a large amount of oil. This one worked very well! While it was baking, I had family members asking how soon they could taste since it smelled wonderful. Small changes I made were using 2 whole eggs instead of 1 whole and two whites, I used 1 tsp of cinnamon, and used 1 cup of unbleached flour and 1 cup of the "white" whole wheat flour. It was moist and not oily like some quick breads that use oil as the fat. The oatmeal gave an appealing texture, nicer than banana bread made with just flour. This one is a keeper in my file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Even though I altered the recipe quite a bit and I'm sure it didn't taste the same as it was originally intended, I thought it was quite delicious! I tried to make this with the least amount of calories and fat as possible, so substitutions/alterations I made include: 1 cup Splenda instead of brown sugar, 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce instead of the oil, 1/2 cup egg substitute instead of the eggs, 3 bananas instead of 2, used instant oats instead of regular, 1/2 cup light vanilla-flavored soy milk instead of milk, and finally I converted the bread into 16 muffins. They came out moist and dense and not-too sweet. Next time I will try to use whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose to lower the calories even more and make them more healthy. According to my calculations each muffin is only 100 calories and contains a negligible amount of fat. I ate them with some sugar-free strawberry jam for a very filling and yummy snack that didn't ruin my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a hearty banana bread. I made the recipe with one substitution: I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour. It made it a bit drier, I think. It was not geat at room temperature but I presliced it and kept the slices wrapped in the refrigerator. A few seconds in the microwave and I had a great warm mid-morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States