Banana Oat and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Made them when I saw the recipe on line today and they are super. Maple syrup adds a nice touch - something different. My family is standing here munching them while I'm typing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I had a very hard time with this recipe. I found it extremely wet and there is no way I could possibly roll this dough into balls, so I added more flour and oats, baked them for 15 min. and they were very doughy. Would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I wonder if something wasn't left out of this recipe. The mix turns out really soupy and there's no way you can roll it into balls. I added another 1.5 cups of oats just to get it to a "drop" consistancy. The cookies turned out all right, though they're not my favorite. I'd love to hear from the original submitter and know if this indeed the recipe the way they intended to submit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This recipe is a complete waste of time and ingredients. There MUST be something missing in this recipe. It's extremely runny... added much more flour and oats to at least be able to form a cookie... when baked, they tasted horrible!! Do yourself a favorite and try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
this recipie was ok..but it wasn't my favorite! It was way too moist to form into balls...so i added alot more oats and flour! But it didn't taste too bad:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Very, very runny. I too added additional flour and oats. The cookies were very wet. They didn't taste badly but not worth the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe is awful. After following it, instead of rolling cookies, I had the consistency of soup! It took 6 more cups of oats. needless to say they were gross when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
these are hardly cookies. theyre more like mini, chewy banana breads. i tried it twice, thinking i had screwed it up the first time b/c they were so runny.... theyre not too bad, really... i had to add extra flour and oats, but never got them anywhere near the consistancy needed to roll them. i dropped some, and used a mini muffin tin for some. i added coconut to my first batch, and chopped peanuts to the next ones. all natural peanut butter + a couple of these things = yummy breakfast. =] quite filling, too. in the future, ill probably just make some banana bread with my too-ripe bananas tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
We tried the recipe and it made a very interesting soup. I decided that the recipe must be missing something. So I added an extra 1/2 cup of wheat flour, 1/4 cup of wheat bran, 1 1/4 cups of rolled oats, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and baking powder, and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I dropped them by the tablespoon onto a parchment paper cookie sheet. I then baked them for appx 20 min. It made 42 cookies. They came out very moist. So I put them into our dehydrator and dryed them. They made the best granola cookie. I will be making these again and again. There great for a quick breakfast or to take alone while traveling and they are high in fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
If you double the dry ingredients and make as drop cookies, these are absolutely wonderful. I made a few other changes: traded Splenda for the brown sugar (kept the maple syrup in though), skipped the raisins, and added about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The texture was terrific! Dense and moist, very satisfying with a glass of cold milk. Nutrition information for my revised (no sugar) version (24 cookies): 50 calories, 1 g fat, 2 g protein, 1 g fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States