Banana Oat and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
definitely a good cookie after a couple of changes. Doubled the dry ingredients, added vanilla and subbed in 1/4 cup of peanut butter for 1/4 cup of the yogurt. omitted the brown sugar and used 1/3 cup of honey instead. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
If you double the dry ingredients and make as drop cookies, these are absolutely wonderful. I made a few other changes: traded Splenda for the brown sugar (kept the maple syrup in though), skipped the raisins, and added about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The texture was terrific! Dense and moist, very satisfying with a glass of cold milk. Nutrition information for my revised (no sugar) version (24 cookies): 50 calories, 1 g fat, 2 g protein, 1 g fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
i doubled the amount of flour,oats, and bran that the recipe called for and used light brown sugar, which has less calories. I also added 1/4 cup flax seed and 1/4 cup raisins. The cookies turned out GREAT!they're like little muffin tops! AND they're healthy!MAKE THEM!especially if you like bananas and/or bran muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I really liked these cookies, and I made no changes to the recipe. When the dough is first mixed it is really wet, but you need to let it sit for about 15 minutes or so (so the bran, flour, and oats absorb the excess moisture). They turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I rated this recipe 4 out of 5 only after changing the recipe significantly. I hope people read the suggustions before they carry on with a new recipe, I know I always do. As for the changes I made: double all of the dry ingredients, 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of brown sugar,1 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 cup walnuts and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. My young children and I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Made them when I saw the recipe on line today and they are super. Maple syrup adds a nice touch - something different. My family is standing here munching them while I'm typing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Pretty tasty! I doubled the baking powder, wheat bran, and oats, and used a total of 1 and a half cups of flour. I also used egg beaters instead of egg whites and substituted walnuts for the raisins. The cookie turned out very firm and dense, with a muffin-like texture. I dropped them on the cookie sheet and they kept their shape in the oven. Next time I will probably only use one cup of flower, and see if I can't get a thinner, crispier cookie. Nice healthy snack, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had no yogurt or maple syrup, but substituted 2T peanut butter and 2T honey, cut back sugar to 1/4C, added 2T ground flax, 1 whole egg and 1/2C chocolate chips (no raisins). Waited 15min for dough to thicken as recommended by another reviewer (still a little thin), added 1/4C more oats. Overall... turned out more like banana bread muffin tops. Still tasty, but probably won't make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I had a very hard time with this recipe. I found it extremely wet and there is no way I could possibly roll this dough into balls, so I added more flour and oats, baked them for 15 min. and they were very doughy. Would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I wonder if something wasn't left out of this recipe. The mix turns out really soupy and there's no way you can roll it into balls. I added another 1.5 cups of oats just to get it to a "drop" consistancy. The cookies turned out all right, though they're not my favorite. I'd love to hear from the original submitter and know if this indeed the recipe the way they intended to submit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States