Banana Oat and Bran Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I rated this recipe 4 out of 5 only after changing the recipe significantly. I hope people read the suggustions before they carry on with a new recipe, I know I always do. As for the changes I made: double all of the dry ingredients, 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of brown sugar,1 tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/4 cup walnuts and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. My young children and I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Pretty tasty! I doubled the baking powder, wheat bran, and oats, and used a total of 1 and a half cups of flour. I also used egg beaters instead of egg whites and substituted walnuts for the raisins. The cookie turned out very firm and dense, with a muffin-like texture. I dropped them on the cookie sheet and they kept their shape in the oven. Next time I will probably only use one cup of flower, and see if I can't get a thinner, crispier cookie. Nice healthy snack, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe was very runny. Not biscuit consistancy at all. I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour but it didn't help. I poured the mixture into a slice tin and cooked them for 30 mins but they came out very stodgy. I wouldn't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
If you double the dry ingredients and make as drop cookies, these are absolutely wonderful. I made a few other changes: traded Splenda for the brown sugar (kept the maple syrup in though), skipped the raisins, and added about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The texture was terrific! Dense and moist, very satisfying with a glass of cold milk. Nutrition information for my revised (no sugar) version (24 cookies): 50 calories, 1 g fat, 2 g protein, 1 g fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
We tried the recipe and it made a very interesting soup. I decided that the recipe must be missing something. So I added an extra 1/2 cup of wheat flour, 1/4 cup of wheat bran, 1 1/4 cups of rolled oats, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and baking powder, and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I dropped them by the tablespoon onto a parchment paper cookie sheet. I then baked them for appx 20 min. It made 42 cookies. They came out very moist. So I put them into our dehydrator and dryed them. They made the best granola cookie. I will be making these again and again. There great for a quick breakfast or to take alone while traveling and they are high in fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
these are hardly cookies. theyre more like mini, chewy banana breads. i tried it twice, thinking i had screwed it up the first time b/c they were so runny.... theyre not too bad, really... i had to add extra flour and oats, but never got them anywhere near the consistancy needed to roll them. i dropped some, and used a mini muffin tin for some. i added coconut to my first batch, and chopped peanuts to the next ones. all natural peanut butter + a couple of these things = yummy breakfast. =] quite filling, too. in the future, ill probably just make some banana bread with my too-ripe bananas tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe is awful. After following it, instead of rolling cookies, I had the consistency of soup! It took 6 more cups of oats. needless to say they were gross when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Very, very runny. I too added additional flour and oats. The cookies were very wet. They didn't taste badly but not worth the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
this recipie was ok..but it wasn't my favorite! It was way too moist to form into balls...so i added alot more oats and flour! But it didn't taste too bad:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This recipe is a complete waste of time and ingredients. There MUST be something missing in this recipe. It's extremely runny... added much more flour and oats to at least be able to form a cookie... when baked, they tasted horrible!! Do yourself a favorite and try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States