Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
While very good, I think the butter could be reduced to 1/4-1/3 cup-I had the same experience as another reviewer who commented that butter had actually seeped through the paper liners and was visible in the pan after the muffins were removed. Good banana flavor, hearty texture because of the oats and nuts, and a crunchy brown sugar topping. Muffin tin sizes vary, so you may get more or less than 12 muffins--just remember to fill the muffin cups 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
It really bugs me it when people review recipes after making a ton of changes but because a lot of swaps are suggested in reviews for this particular muffin, I will say this: these were good the way I made them after reading through the reviews but I suspect they would have been better had I not swapped half the butter for applesauce, exchanged for wheat flour and subbed low-fat yogurt for the sour cream. A solid three or four with the subs, I have no trouble believing they'd be 5 star if left alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These are irresistible! I made two batches, one as muffins and one in a brownie pan, and I thought the brownie pan batch turned out better - much moister. Perhaps I would reduce the cooking time for the muffins a bit next time. I also used whole oats rather than grinding them, as I don't own a food processor, and it was terrific - gave it great hearty texture. The crumbles on top are amazing, everyone loved them! These were an overwhelming hit. Highly recommend--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I make a lot of muffins and these are probably my favorite. They are very moist, and my favorite part is the wonderful texture! With a few changes, they're healthy too! I substituted white whole wheat flour (you could also use ww pastry flour or plain whole wheat) for all the all purpose - subbed extra banana for 1/2 the butter, and nonfat plain yogurt instead of the sour cream. The nuts are definitely optional, as is the topping. They are also plenty sweet with only 3/4 cup of sugar. Also, remember the baking soda - it's not in the directions! My kids gobble these up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ButtercupBento
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made these using sweetener rather than sugar and low fat yoghurt instead of sour cream to make them healthier. I liked the idea and taste of the ground oats, makes them more dense. As I don't have any muffin cases I made these in smaller bun cases and only cooked them for 20 minutes. I didn't top them just sprinkled them with brown sugar (again for health reasons). Absolutely delicous and tasted very much like professional muffins. I lovely change to banana bread. The recipe made 26 muffin buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
these are soooo good! i didn't have any nuts, so i added some dried cranberries. i accidently added a half tsp of cinnamon, but it wasn't a problem. might add a touch more next time. i was a tad disappointed that they didn't get a big muffin top on them, but i'm over it! LOL Really really tasty muffins. thanks for sharing AAMMEGAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is absolutely the best muffin recipe I've ever come across. The flavor is outstanding, and I've never even used the crumble topping. This last time I made them I actually substituted half the butter with coconut oil, and what was great became out of this world! Since I use really ripe bananas, I usually cut back a little on the sugar. I use 1/2 cup white and 1/4 cup brown. The only other subsitution I make is with the use of pecans rather than walnuts. I have already shared this recipe with many and will continue to do so! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Ummmm! These were great! and my co workers agree. I made a couple changes to the recipe, I used 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 c brown sugar. I also substituted 1/2 c applesauce for 1/2 c butter that the recipe called for. I didn’t have any sour cream, so I just left that out. But my end result was still great, and the topping is wonderful!! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
wow... these are GREAT muffins. so yummy. great even without the topping, so i will cut out (or maybe just use a sprinkle of brown sugar) next time. also... i like a more textured muffin, so i didn't grind the oats, i used them as is. delicious. thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These were really good. This has replaced all other banana muffin receipes including other ones found on this website. Since I like the texture of oats I didn't grind them up. I also replaced 1/2 of the butter with applesauce and used all whole wheat flour. I didn't do the crumb topping but just sprinkled with some decorating sugar and cinnamon. These are really fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States