Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe. As others suggested, I cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I did not put the additional topping on and I think they were just as good. I found them a little sweet so will adjust the sugar next time as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I LOVE these muffins. I have made as muffins and as bread (both are amazing!). I know that everyone has said they made changes, I didn't the first time, but the second I used applesauce in place of butter in the batter and cut the walnuts (just to make them healthier)... still outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
FIVE STARS!! This is by far the best banana muffin recipe I have ever tried. I had no issues with the butter ordeal that others have mentions since I made this into a loaf. Within an hour the whole thing was GONE! Even I went back for seconds (so much for leaving some for breakfast in the morning!). I will for sure be making these again (already the kids asked to make them this morning!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
As written 3 stars. I didn't care for the topping. It actually sunk. With moderations, 5 stars. Substitute 1/2 cup butter with 1/2 cup canola oil. Increase bananas by 1/2 cup. Add 1 tablespoon molasses (incredible). Substitute 1/2 cup of white sugar with 1/2 cup brown sugar. Substitute 1/2 cup all-purpose flour with 1/2 cup whole wheat stone ground flour (next time I'll substitute completely with wheat flour) Omit topping. I baked this in a loaf pan for almost an hour (checking at 45 minutes.) I do have to thank AAMMEGAN for the base of this recipe, though. I'd like to also try substituting the banana for pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My family enjoyed these muffins. I substituted the sour cream with low fat Vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great Recipe! Made a few changes of course. Used grapeseed oil instead of butter, changed 1/2 of flour to whole wheat. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. The muffins were light in color. served with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I think this is a good recipe. But I liked it better with half the sugar, low fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream, and a little more cinnamon. But otherwise really good even if you dont make changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this exactly the way it said to. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were fantastic, but I made some changes. I used Blue Bonnet Light vegetable spread instead of butter, used 1 1/4 cups bananas (because that's what I got from the three bananas I had), and used 1/3 cup all natural sour cream (because that's what I had left in the container). I also left out the walnuts (don't care for nuts in breads) and the topping. Since 1/4 tsp cinnamon didn't seem like it would be much flavor, I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp and added 1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg. The way I made them, these are the best banana muffins I've ever tasted! It ended up making 16 muffins instead of 12 because I couldn't fit it all into 12 muffin cups. My version also has far fewer calories at about 130 per muffin (according to Livestrong.com's recipe builder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These were AMAZING! I could not get enough of the banana flavour. The oatmeal also added an inviting texture. I used low fat vanilla yogurt in place of the sour cream, since that was what I had on hand. It worked great! I also used 1 tbs. of baking powder b/c I had no baking soda. Unfortunately, I did not have any walnuts either, but the muffins still turned out great. Full of flavour--thank you so much for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States