Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My hubby just had a heart attack so am trying to use heart friendly alternatives. I left out the walnuts and then I used olive oil instead of butter for both the batter and the streusel topping and replaced the sour cream with applesauce. It turned out fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except I only put walnuts on the top so my non nut-loving kids could pick them off. The batter spread out a little on top creating wide muffin tops. I probably could have gotten 14 muffins out of it instead of 12. The taste was terrific! Hearty enough for breakfast, sweet enough for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These weren't bad, but they weren't my favorite banana muffins. I give it 4 stars because I think this recipe has serious potential if you leave off the topping. I did my best to stick to the ingredients listed. The only changes I made were using plain greek non fat yogurt instead of sour cream and I used old fashioned outs instead of rolled oats. I also left out the walnuts because I don't care for them. The results: these muffins sunk, were far too sweet, and could use more banana flavor. The muffins were also a little greasy, but I don't know if that's because of the topping or the butter used in the batter. Next time I will skip the topping, add a little less sugar, and maybe add an extra banana. I like strong banana flavor so that may be a personal preference. Also, my old fashioned oats weren't very moist and were on the chewy side (and not in a good way) so I might par cook them, put them in the food processor for a second or just go out and buy some rolled oats. Long story short, old fashioned oats just didn't cut it in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These are probably the best muffins Ive ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Im rating in the topping alone. Very very Good!! I Love the crunch from the nuts an the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
The flavor of these is great but the batter is a little thin for muffins I think they might need some more flour... I added blueberries and like I said the flavor is great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! Changes I made were to use 3 T rolled oats in the batter vs. 1 as I had no nuts, and I upped the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. I probably had more than 1 c bananas; I used what I had which was 3.5 med very ripe ones. This made 18 muffins for me, so next time I will make 1.5 times the topping to generously cover. Also I will be careful to fill tins only 1/2 full, as the overfilled ones tended to stick more. This recipe takes a banana muffin up a notch to a banana streusel muffin. Mine were not chewy but very soft, and held together well. Loved the topping even without the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
These were fantastic!! I made it the way the recipe said except I didn't chop the oats. The texture was still great and I love the moist buttery flavor!! Awesome.... I will make these for my co-workers for back to school!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe is one of the best. I have made it following the recipe almost exactly, except for leaving out the sour cream, as I simply don't keep it in the house, and I have made it with many modifications. I personally agree with other reviewers that have said that there is too much butter. I have in my subsequent uses of this recipe cut the butter down to 1/4 cup. It could be my bananas or my area simply has too much moisture for that much butter. I also have made this recipe with half whole wheat flour, and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. This is due to personal preference. I also don't measure out my banana quantity so I probably use too much. I also don't add butter to the topping. Once again, this recipe is great as is, but I have also enjoyed tinkering with it to make it more to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
These muffins are awesome! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand. I left the oats whole since I don't have a food processor and the texture came out really well. Since I didn't have any sour cream I debated between yogurt or mayonnaise, and opted for the mayo. I had some apples that needed to be used or tossed so I chopped those up and threw them in, so glad I did! I also doubled the topping since I was able to make 18 muffins from this recipe. I will definitely make this recipe again. Next time I want to add raisins, increase the cinnamon a bit, and add a pinch of salt to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States