Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
love them! I took advice from others and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and did not use the topping. I didn't have sour cream and I poured in a little apple juice for moisture. They are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Definitely a keeper! I made substitutions based on my dietary preferences and what I like to bake with, but I'm sure it's fabulous as written too. I reduced walnuts to 1/4 c in muffins and 2 tbsp. in topping. I exchanged 1/2 c coconut oil in place of butter and reduced sugar to 1/2 c sugar + 1/4 c honey. I used 2 ripe, mashed bananas (not sure the equivalent measurements, but they were good sized bananas) and eliminated the sour cream altogether. They were perfect baked for 25 min...12 oversized muffins with crumbly goodness on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Delicious! And we're not banana lovers. I didn't have sour cream, so used vanilla yogurt instead. Can't go wrong there, but maybe slightly sweeter. The tops were not as beautiful and full as the best muffins I've seen, but the flavor made up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
So moist and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My hubby just had a heart attack so am trying to use heart friendly alternatives. I left out the walnuts and then I used olive oil instead of butter for both the batter and the streusel topping and replaced the sour cream with applesauce. It turned out fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except I only put walnuts on the top so my non nut-loving kids could pick them off. The batter spread out a little on top creating wide muffin tops. I probably could have gotten 14 muffins out of it instead of 12. The taste was terrific! Hearty enough for breakfast, sweet enough for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These weren't bad, but they weren't my favorite banana muffins. I give it 4 stars because I think this recipe has serious potential if you leave off the topping. I did my best to stick to the ingredients listed. The only changes I made were using plain greek non fat yogurt instead of sour cream and I used old fashioned outs instead of rolled oats. I also left out the walnuts because I don't care for them. The results: these muffins sunk, were far too sweet, and could use more banana flavor. The muffins were also a little greasy, but I don't know if that's because of the topping or the butter used in the batter. Next time I will skip the topping, add a little less sugar, and maybe add an extra banana. I like strong banana flavor so that may be a personal preference. Also, my old fashioned oats weren't very moist and were on the chewy side (and not in a good way) so I might par cook them, put them in the food processor for a second or just go out and buy some rolled oats. Long story short, old fashioned oats just didn't cut it in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These are probably the best muffins Ive ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Im rating in the topping alone. Very very Good!! I Love the crunch from the nuts an the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
The flavor of these is great but the batter is a little thin for muffins I think they might need some more flour... I added blueberries and like I said the flavor is great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States