Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
these were really yummy, i substituted 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter, and used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. I also put in extra cinammon and some nutmeg and cloves. I will definitely be making these again. They were incredibly moist, next time i will put just applesauce and no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made a few small changes and left out the topping, and they were great! I used half whole wheat flour, 1/2 C white sugar and 1/4 C brown sugar, toasted walnuts, 1/3 C butter, and about 1 1/2 C bananas. The recipe made 18 muffins for me. They are really good, and reasonably healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is absolutely the best muffin recipe I've ever come across. The flavor is outstanding, and I've never even used the crumble topping. This last time I made them I actually substituted half the butter with coconut oil, and what was great became out of this world! Since I use really ripe bananas, I usually cut back a little on the sugar. I use 1/2 cup white and 1/4 cup brown. The only other subsitution I make is with the use of pecans rather than walnuts. I have already shared this recipe with many and will continue to do so! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
these muffins are definitely moist, but they don't have a lot of flavor. If you like the banana flavor in a muffin, don't make these. If i try to make these again i would halve the salt and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I doubled this recipe for my Bible Study group. WOW!! These are wonderful. The only alteration I made was substituting yogurt for the sour cream (it was what I had on hand). I anticipate many demands for the recipe. Kids love them also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
They were wonderful with great flavour. I made some changes to make it more gluten and dairy free. I used 1 cup rice flour and 2 tablespoons corn flour and only 1 egg. I also used soured soy milk instead of the sour cream. Still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These are wonderful! And they are filling. The only thing I changed was applesauce in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tblackmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The only change I made was not adding the nuts. They were decicious! My daughters said they were the best muffins they ever had. They were worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These were really good. This has replaced all other banana muffin receipes including other ones found on this website. Since I like the texture of oats I didn't grind them up. I also replaced 1/2 of the butter with applesauce and used all whole wheat flour. I didn't do the crumb topping but just sprinkled with some decorating sugar and cinnamon. These are really fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Fan. Tas. Tic! Ok ok, so I switched it up slightly by using 4 VERY ripe bananas, only 1/4 C butter, lite sour cream, and I subbed 1 tsp of Captain Morgan's rum for the vanilla. I baked them for 24 min--will bake maybe 1 or 2 more minutes longer next time. So very mouthwatering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States