Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Kathy Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
these muffins rock i follow the recipe almost to a t only added half of the sourcream also added a pack of sugar free cheesecake pudding mix and a 1/4 cup of half and half made these yesterday evening my boyfriend and i ate the last of them this morning thanks alot great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Perfect Banana Muffins - just as it is. I left out the nuts because not everyone in my family is a fan it was still a wonderful tasting recipe. Very moist. I made no changes to the recipe and I made some as regular sized muffins and some as minimuffins. The minis only took 13 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
It really bugs me it when people review recipes after making a ton of changes but because a lot of swaps are suggested in reviews for this particular muffin, I will say this: these were good the way I made them after reading through the reviews but I suspect they would have been better had I not swapped half the butter for applesauce, exchanged for wheat flour and subbed low-fat yogurt for the sour cream. A solid three or four with the subs, I have no trouble believing they'd be 5 star if left alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
these were really yummy, i substituted 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter, and used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. I also put in extra cinammon and some nutmeg and cloves. I will definitely be making these again. They were incredibly moist, next time i will put just applesauce and no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made a few small changes and left out the topping, and they were great! I used half whole wheat flour, 1/2 C white sugar and 1/4 C brown sugar, toasted walnuts, 1/3 C butter, and about 1 1/2 C bananas. The recipe made 18 muffins for me. They are really good, and reasonably healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is absolutely the best muffin recipe I've ever come across. The flavor is outstanding, and I've never even used the crumble topping. This last time I made them I actually substituted half the butter with coconut oil, and what was great became out of this world! Since I use really ripe bananas, I usually cut back a little on the sugar. I use 1/2 cup white and 1/4 cup brown. The only other subsitution I make is with the use of pecans rather than walnuts. I have already shared this recipe with many and will continue to do so! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
these muffins are definitely moist, but they don't have a lot of flavor. If you like the banana flavor in a muffin, don't make these. If i try to make these again i would halve the salt and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I doubled this recipe for my Bible Study group. WOW!! These are wonderful. The only alteration I made was substituting yogurt for the sour cream (it was what I had on hand). I anticipate many demands for the recipe. Kids love them also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
They were wonderful with great flavour. I made some changes to make it more gluten and dairy free. I used 1 cup rice flour and 2 tablespoons corn flour and only 1 egg. I also used soured soy milk instead of the sour cream. Still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These are wonderful! And they are filling. The only thing I changed was applesauce in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tblackmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States