Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wow!! These are really good!! My family is going to love them. I am always looking for a good oatmeal recipe for my kids. Now, I had planned on doing the recipe as is, but it seems as though I wasn't prepared to do any baking today!! I didn't realize that I was out of so many things. So I had to improvise. I did double the recipe. My brown sugar was hard, so I heated to loosen, (I think I got a cup out of it) with a 1/4 cup of white. Used 1 cup each of white and whole wheat, with some wheat germ (1/2 cup) as well. Used spiced rum instead of vanilla. This one is the best...Had only 1/4 of oats, (really thought I had more) so I strained all the sugars out of about 6 packets of instant oatmeal. 2 being multigrain ones. I also used about 9 banana's (5 of which were smaller), as I love having lots of flavour. I didn't add nuts--kids can't take them to school, but topped each one off with some chocolate chips, instead of using the crumb mixture. These again were awesome...and BTW...Everything else I did have...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Even my husband who is very particular abut what goes int the cakes, cookies & muffins loved these muffins :) He only asked if it is pssible to substitute the sugar with Hney.. may try. My 3yr old didn't even take a bite but 6yr old has been having 2 at each sitting, he LOVES it. Between the 3 of us, the 15muffins I got from this recipe don't last more than 2 days. I didn't have sour cream so used plain yogurt instead (healthier anyway), also cut down on the butter(used only 1/3cup) & the w.sugar(3/4cup). Forgot to seperate the walnuts for the topping and mixed them all in with the flour. Only brown sugar and rolled oats for the topping yet it was still Excellent. YUMMY! Missing it already, will make more as soon as I buy some rolled oats!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These muffins taste like they should be healthy for you, but the amounts of sugar and fat don't make for a healthy muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Really good muffins! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white. I omitted the topping. The result was a hearty muffin that had a great banana-nut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Awesome recipe. I've made it countless times and has always been a hit. I make 2 batches and freeze them. Every morning and take one out and microwave it for 40 seconds, tastes as if I just baked them. I added ground flaxseed to give it more fiber content. At times, I substitute flour for whole wheat flour, then add 1 tbs of vegetable oil so it doesn't come out too dry. They're AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayte_Spain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is my new favorite banana bread recipe. I made one loaf of bread and put the remaining batter into a muffin pan with chocolate chips. Everyone agreed that this is the best banana bread we've ever made. One problem is that the middle did sink in, though it was cooked all the way through. Maybe I'll cook it a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this muffin gluten free by substituting half soy and half Quinoa flour for the regular flour. Also used half olive oil/half butter. I substituted Sugar Twin for the sugar....but only used about 1/2 cup. With all those health substitutions, they were amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious, even without the topping. I'm trying to eat a bit healthier, so I omitted it and used a scant 2/3 c. of brown sugar instead of 1 c. white. Also used yogurt instead of sour cream. Cooked only 20 minutes. Results were moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Delicious! I made these according to the recipe. My suggestion would be to bake these in two muffin pans so that you can separate one empty space between each muffin while baking because mine were touching eachother while baking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
While very good, I think the butter could be reduced to 1/4-1/3 cup-I had the same experience as another reviewer who commented that butter had actually seeped through the paper liners and was visible in the pan after the muffins were removed. Good banana flavor, hearty texture because of the oats and nuts, and a crunchy brown sugar topping. Muffin tin sizes vary, so you may get more or less than 12 muffins--just remember to fill the muffin cups 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States