Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made a few small changes... didn't grind up the oatmeal, just dumped it right in... used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 3/4 cup of honey instead of sugar... also added 1/2 cup of wheat germ... ended up with delicious, hearty-yet-sweet muffins that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These are great! Light and fluffy, not dense like most banana breads. The streusel is pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These muffins have great flavor and texture. I wished they rose a little higher, though. I cut the butter to 1/4 cup and sugar to 1/2 cup, and they were still plenty moist and sweet with the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
HOW ARE THESE SOOOO GOOD? I've done many banana muffin recipes, none this amazing. Used fat free yogurt instead of sour cream, added an extra 1/2 cup of banana.Don't use the full amount of sugar, I substituted half with 1/2 cup brown sugar and about 3/4 cup white sugar & it was still a bit too much sugar. Yummyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I added 1/4 cup of coconut, 1/4 cup honey, reduce the sugar. It was really great. crunchy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wow!! These are really good!! My family is going to love them. I am always looking for a good oatmeal recipe for my kids. Now, I had planned on doing the recipe as is, but it seems as though I wasn't prepared to do any baking today!! I didn't realize that I was out of so many things. So I had to improvise. I did double the recipe. My brown sugar was hard, so I heated to loosen, (I think I got a cup out of it) with a 1/4 cup of white. Used 1 cup each of white and whole wheat, with some wheat germ (1/2 cup) as well. Used spiced rum instead of vanilla. This one is the best...Had only 1/4 of oats, (really thought I had more) so I strained all the sugars out of about 6 packets of instant oatmeal. 2 being multigrain ones. I also used about 9 banana's (5 of which were smaller), as I love having lots of flavour. I didn't add nuts--kids can't take them to school, but topped each one off with some chocolate chips, instead of using the crumb mixture. These again were awesome...and BTW...Everything else I did have...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Even my husband who is very particular abut what goes int the cakes, cookies & muffins loved these muffins :) He only asked if it is pssible to substitute the sugar with Hney.. may try. My 3yr old didn't even take a bite but 6yr old has been having 2 at each sitting, he LOVES it. Between the 3 of us, the 15muffins I got from this recipe don't last more than 2 days. I didn't have sour cream so used plain yogurt instead (healthier anyway), also cut down on the butter(used only 1/3cup) & the w.sugar(3/4cup). Forgot to seperate the walnuts for the topping and mixed them all in with the flour. Only brown sugar and rolled oats for the topping yet it was still Excellent. YUMMY! Missing it already, will make more as soon as I buy some rolled oats!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These muffins taste like they should be healthy for you, but the amounts of sugar and fat don't make for a healthy muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Really good muffins! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white. I omitted the topping. The result was a hearty muffin that had a great banana-nut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Awesome recipe. I've made it countless times and has always been a hit. I make 2 batches and freeze them. Every morning and take one out and microwave it for 40 seconds, tastes as if I just baked them. I added ground flaxseed to give it more fiber content. At times, I substitute flour for whole wheat flour, then add 1 tbs of vegetable oil so it doesn't come out too dry. They're AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayte_Spain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

Displaying results 111-120 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States