Banana Oat Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I thought it was pretty good - I took the advice of adding a bit more sugar, cinnamon & vanilla extract. I'm not sure why this recipe does not call for eggs. I think eggs would have made it thicker, more custard-like. Still, I ate it all. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLikeCereal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
simple to make and delicious as a lighter alternative to the richer relatives of this dessert pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I used some suggestions given: I added cinnamon and vanilla extract and walnuts. Also, I used applesauce instead of butter, and soy milk instead of regular milk (to lower fat and cholesterol). I cut down the bananas to 2, and used the Splenda/brown sugar mixture to cut sugar calories. I added currants as well as Heath toffee chips to sweeten it up, because I was making it for a dessert. I served with vanilla bean ice cream and drizzled caramel sauce on it. It would not have been sweet enough for a dessert otherwise. I rated the recipe as a 4 by itself, but with all my changes/additions, it was a 5! I got rave reviews and everyone wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
My husband and I have been looking for ways to incorporate more whole grains and fruits into our dite. This one is a keeper - with no eggs or flour and little sugar, it is a moist, healthy and tasty way to get your oats and fruits. I did add cinnamon, vanilla and twice the raisins. My husband rated it a 10! Next time I will try canola oil instead of the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
i made this w/o the bananas b/c my daughter ate them before i could cook, my husband and daughter wont try it becuase it looks funny, they said. but my friends and neighbors like it. one friend will call and ask me to make it for him to take home. i like cooking so i will! its plain w/o the bananas but i like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe. My only change was that I only had 2 large bananas. The result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I really loved this, but must admit I didn't really follow the directions precisely. I did add cinnamon and vanilla following the advice of previous reviewers. I also cheated and used banana and cream instant oatmeal. More bread, cause I had a lot, and loads of raisins. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
We also found this pretty bland. I added extra brown sugar and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top but it still needed something. Even served with caramel topping....it was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very very good! I had only three bananas and I added walnuts. Tasted great, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I, unfortunately, did not care for this at all. The banana was overpowering and it wasn't sweet enough at all. Another reviewer suggested adding a little vanilla but I didn't do that. Maybe it would have helped. But I followed the directions as written and this was horrible. My husband wouldnt even try a bite and I wish I hadn't. Sorry, but I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States