Banana Oat Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
All that is needed to top this bread pudding off is a big scoop of vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
So yummy and healthy!! :) I wanted to give it five stars but I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 2 eggs, some vanilla, cinnamon, and I replaced the brown sugar with honey. The milk wasn't at all low-fat; it was fresh from our Jersey cow, and the bread was homemade. Truely a healthy breakfast that is perfect for a dieter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
A good way to use up stale wheat French bread and some very ripe bananas. I am not fond of raisins baked into things so I used blueberries... SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: La Marque, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have been making this for a few years now. I use an egg, applesauce instead of the butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of raisins, 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla, 5 slices of bread, and usually only 2 chopped bananas. So, yes, I make some changes. :) But anyway, it's wonderful and obviously very easy to tailor to your liking. We had it last night for dessert while warm (the kiddos put a little choc. chip ice cream on top, and I drizzled it with a little Hershey's syrup), and I just had some cold. It's a great and easy way to have just a little something sweet and use up the stale bread ends and over-ripe bananas you have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
EXCELLENT! I had bananas and bread on hand to use up, so made this recipe. Based on other reviews I did add about 1/2 teas of vanilla, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was VERY good. Not overly sweet, which is good in my opinion, but great banana flavor. I had some for dessert tonight, but I may have more for breakfast tomorrow! THANKS for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This turned out quite well. I did add two eggs as was suggested in other reviews and 1 tsp. & vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I'm not a big fan of banana pudding but am tired of throwing away over ripened bananas and thought I'd give this a try. I'm so glad I did. This is delicious. If you like bread pudding and oatmeal you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Trying to curb my curving for bread pudding with something a little healthier, I found this recipe. The thing with this recipe is, you have to like the individual components: I adore oats, ww bread, bananas, and milk...thought it sounded perfect. This is great breakfast food. My family thought I had just made the strangest dessert ever; it wasn't sweet or rich enough for them and thought it was way too healthy with bananas and oats. I omtitted the butter and instead mashed one banana and stirred it in with the sugar and raisins. One banana mashed in gave HUGE banana flavor. I added one ts each of cinnamon and vanilla...Oh, def use a lot of raisins...about a cup. I sliced another banana and arranged it over the top. Next time I would slice another one to put on the top...the baked banana flavor was awesome. I also crushed gingersnap crackers over the top...they melted and hardened into a nicy, spiced crust. I think I would add 2 eggs next time...I missed the custard flavor but it's still great like this. I had to use 3 c of milk b/c I was trying to use it up and tha made it a little too mushy...should have added another slice of bread or more oats. I would love to try this with all oats...a oat pudding. Or dark chocolate chips;]I like it both warm and cold and with a big sccop of vanilla yogurt on top, more sliced bananas( hey, I'm not kidding when I say I LOVE bananas. Still, I think 4 bananas in this would have been a little too much even for me.) and a cold glass of milk. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I used oil instead of butter and chocolate chips instead of raisons. Made half the recipe in a loaf pan. My husband loved it because not too sweet. Very easy to prepare while making dinner. Could dress it up for company with a little maple syrup and whipped cream on top. Not heavy like most bread pudding. Was nervous about not using eggs but worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe was good. I did make several changes as recommended by others. I used applesauce instead of butter. I soaked the bread, oatmeal one mashed bananna, 1 tsp. vanilla, 2 tsp. cinnimon in frig. for at least one hour. I also chopped banannas instead of slicing them. I also sprinkled on 2 tsp. sugar on top before putting in oven. much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very easy to make and great tasting. I like the fact that it is healthy. The only changes I made was applesauce instead of butter and I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States