Banana Oat Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
All that is needed to top this bread pudding off is a big scoop of vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
So yummy and healthy!! :) I wanted to give it five stars but I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 2 eggs, some vanilla, cinnamon, and I replaced the brown sugar with honey. The milk wasn't at all low-fat; it was fresh from our Jersey cow, and the bread was homemade. Truely a healthy breakfast that is perfect for a dieter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
A good way to use up stale wheat French bread and some very ripe bananas. I am not fond of raisins baked into things so I used blueberries... SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: La Marque, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have been making this for a few years now. I use an egg, applesauce instead of the butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of raisins, 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla, 5 slices of bread, and usually only 2 chopped bananas. So, yes, I make some changes. :) But anyway, it's wonderful and obviously very easy to tailor to your liking. We had it last night for dessert while warm (the kiddos put a little choc. chip ice cream on top, and I drizzled it with a little Hershey's syrup), and I just had some cold. It's a great and easy way to have just a little something sweet and use up the stale bread ends and over-ripe bananas you have in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
EXCELLENT! I had bananas and bread on hand to use up, so made this recipe. Based on other reviews I did add about 1/2 teas of vanilla, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was VERY good. Not overly sweet, which is good in my opinion, but great banana flavor. I had some for dessert tonight, but I may have more for breakfast tomorrow! THANKS for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This turned out quite well. I did add two eggs as was suggested in other reviews and 1 tsp. & vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon. I'm not a big fan of banana pudding but am tired of throwing away over ripened bananas and thought I'd give this a try. I'm so glad I did. This is delicious. If you like bread pudding and oatmeal you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Trying to curb my curving for bread pudding with something a little healthier, I found this recipe. The thing with this recipe is, you have to like the individual components: I adore oats, ww bread, bananas, and milk...thought it sounded perfect. This is great breakfast food. My family thought I had just made the strangest dessert ever; it wasn't sweet or rich enough for them and thought it was way too healthy with bananas and oats. I omtitted the butter and instead mashed one banana and stirred it in with the sugar and raisins. One banana mashed in gave HUGE banana flavor. I added one ts each of cinnamon and vanilla...Oh, def use a lot of raisins...about a cup. I sliced another banana and arranged it over the top. Next time I would slice another one to put on the top...the baked banana flavor was awesome. I also crushed gingersnap crackers over the top...they melted and hardened into a nicy, spiced crust. I think I would add 2 eggs next time...I missed the custard flavor but it's still great like this. I had to use 3 c of milk b/c I was trying to use it up and tha made it a little too mushy...should have added another slice of bread or more oats. I would love to try this with all oats...a oat pudding. Or dark chocolate chips;]I like it both warm and cold and with a big sccop of vanilla yogurt on top, more sliced bananas( hey, I'm not kidding when I say I LOVE bananas. Still, I think 4 bananas in this would have been a little too much even for me.) and a cold glass of milk. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I used oil instead of butter and chocolate chips instead of raisons. Made half the recipe in a loaf pan. My husband loved it because not too sweet. Very easy to prepare while making dinner. Could dress it up for company with a little maple syrup and whipped cream on top. Not heavy like most bread pudding. Was nervous about not using eggs but worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe was good. I did make several changes as recommended by others. I used applesauce instead of butter. I soaked the bread, oatmeal one mashed bananna, 1 tsp. vanilla, 2 tsp. cinnimon in frig. for at least one hour. I also chopped banannas instead of slicing them. I also sprinkled on 2 tsp. sugar on top before putting in oven. much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very easy to make and great tasting. I like the fact that it is healthy. The only changes I made was applesauce instead of butter and I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States