Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is the best guilt-less feel good snack ever. I made slight changes to the recipe though. I used 1.5 cup bananas (2 medium sized bananas) and decreased the sugar to 1/3 cup. I used 1/3 cup skim yogurt instead of milk, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1 whole egg and 1 egg white instead of 2 egg whites to produce a gooey center. I also replaced the raisins with chopped walnuts. This might contain a little more fats because of the egg yolk and walnuts, but i think it all evens out eventually and its soooo worth it. I made half into drop cookies and half into bars. The drop cookies taste wonderful with its soft center and crispy outer covering, but the bars come a very close second. Its best eaten warm right out of the oven. Thanks for posting this up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
very good, healthy bars, great for breakfast. I added wheat germ and sunflower seeds for added texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Really great lowfat breakfast bar. You won't miss the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Great recipe! I used Splenda in place of the brown sugar and added dried cranberries and an extra banana. The bars are great with pumpkin topping (pumpkin filling mixed with nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla sugar free pudding, skim milk, and cool whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
We love these in my household ... it's become a regular for us. Here's the key: bake in a 9x9 square pan so the bars will be thicker (think of it more like cake) You can't think of these as cookies, they are certainly more cake like. Also, try using half white sugar and half brown sugar. Finally, I add 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract ... gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
These bars are so delicious ,and give out a flavorful aroma of cinnamon ,and banana(a perfect combo.)when baking.Everyone in my family loved them! I recommend using less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is very good, especially considering that it is low fat and low cal! I substituted walnuts for the raisins (my husband hates raisins, but I think they would taste fabulous in this) and halved the recipe (baked in an 8x8), as I was "baking for two." I also threw in a handful of crushed bran flakes for added fiber. Great flavor; great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Ok, so I just made these, twice - with different alterations to the original recipe each time. First alteration - weird. Second - awesome. [p] First attempt: I used..*half white half brown sugar 1 full egg, 1 egg white cranberries instead of raisins canned mandarin oranges (drained) and mushed, but still left lumpy - instead of bananas a sprinkling of nutmeg also made in a muffin tin. cooked for about 20 minutes at 350 texture this time is different, likely because of the wetness of the oranges. (a little heavier) and a little chewier. They are really really good! Next time - I think I'll make a crushed nut/sugar topping to sprinkle over them halfway thought baking. they don't need it, but t sounds tasty. **note be careful baking, they are so moist and sugary that the line between done and burt is very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I read the reviews prior to making this recipe and followed some of the suggestions. I never measure bananas, but I did add 2 1/2 bananas and changed the sugar to 1/8 c Splenda granulated and 1/8 c Splenda brown sugar. I did cook this in an 8x8 pan as suggested and the bars were extremely moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Easy, healthy, moist and delicious. LOVE the low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States