Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Searching for yet another way to use up old bananas, I decided to try these. After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: used only 1 cup oats, added 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup white flour, added 2 Tbsp. veg. oil, and used 1 whole egg instead of 2 egg whites (yolks really aren't that bad for you). I also baked it in a 9x9 inch pan. They turned out a bit crumbly, but that may be because I used rolled oats instaed of quick oats. I love the flavor of these with the raisins and cinnamon. They would also be awesome with walnuts! I frosted them with 1/2 batch "Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Frosting" from this site. Made them more like a snack cake. I will probably make these again, but will try tweaking it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
these tasted good (especially with added tsp of rum extract!), but the soft, cakey texture reminded me too much of soft, mushy oatmeal. yech -- i'm finding it hard to chew & swallow them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Just made these. I added 1/2 cup chopped pecans, and I sprinkled them with powdered sugar. I also used two full eggs and not just the egg whites. The texture was a little weird, but they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
A good recipe for using up brown bananas without making a bread calls for a stick of butter. I did add 1/2 c mini chocolate chips as well as 1/4 c flour. It thickened the batter and worked well in a 11x7 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Interesting bars, not bad, but not great. I did take some of the others input and made it in an 8x8 pan. I also used one full egg and 1 egg white, did use half white sugar & half brown and let mixture set to allow oats to get soft before cooking. I didn't have raisens, but added a little walnuts i had chopped already. Probably won't make again, but we'll eat what we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe was very good! I was out of white sugar, so ended up using all brown sugar, it tasted just as good! I made it in the 9x13 pan, but I think next time I will try an 8x8 pan. These would be even better, thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made some substitutions for these and made them as breakfast bars. I used ground flax seed and water as an egg subsitute and substituted 1/2 maple syrup and 1/2 agave nectar for someone with senstivities to refined sugar. Because of all the liquid, the batter was pretty gloppy so I added a few tablespoons of whole wheat flour. For what i was looking for, they came out great. Since I wasn't looking for a cookie or cake recipe, I may have had different expectations than others. I am sure I will make these again for weekday breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These are very good. I cooked them in 2 cake pans & sliced them "pizza" style & I iced them lightly with banana butter icing from this site. Goes great with coffee in the morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I just made them(they taste great) and they came out very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Ok, so I just made these, twice - with different alterations to the original recipe each time. First alteration - weird. Second - awesome. [p] First attempt: I used..*half white half brown sugar 1 full egg, 1 egg white cranberries instead of raisins canned mandarin oranges (drained) and mushed, but still left lumpy - instead of bananas a sprinkling of nutmeg also made in a muffin tin. cooked for about 20 minutes at 350 texture this time is different, likely because of the wetness of the oranges. (a little heavier) and a little chewier. They are really really good! Next time - I think I'll make a crushed nut/sugar topping to sprinkle over them halfway thought baking. they don't need it, but t sounds tasty. **note be careful baking, they are so moist and sugary that the line between done and burt is very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States