Banana Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
As is 4 stars. I cannot imagine making this in a 9x13" pan or using 2 teaspons of b. power. For a birthday dessert I made this in a 9x9" and added butterscotch & chocolate chips, and chopped walnuts. I used 1 tsp each of baking powder and soda. 30 minutes was all it needed. For myself I made a healthy version of this: 1/4 cup sugar, replaced the butter with unsweetened applesauce, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed, 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein, and used 1/2 tsp each of baking soda & powder. I cannot stay out of these!! 10 gold stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
The 1st time I made this, I thought she forgot something so I added two whole eggs and 1 1/2 cups flour.And it turned out great!It was yummy banana oat bread.OK then the 2nd time I made it w/ the recipe provided.Not so good.It was flat and really not too good.I might stick w/my recipe if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good bar; very oat-ey. A bit crumbly, almost more fork than hand friendly. Banana flavor is quite subtle; might have liked a stronger flavor. I did cut back on the amount of sugar to about 1/3C and used a mixture of white and brown sugars; plenty sweet. Baked in a 9x9 and turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I thought these were good. I read all of the reviews and followed a little bit of everybodys ideas. I used an 11x7 pan, a whole egg and kept the rest the same. I did soak the oatmeal in the milk so it wouldn't be as wet as people said. Mine still were wet in the middle but it was very tasty. Plus they smelled awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!! :) I did change some things, though, I added 1/2 cup of flour, 1 whole egg instead of the two egg whites, and I put it into an 8 by 8 inch pan. This makes a guilt free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a very nice bar for breakfast. I added 1/4 cup of flour to make it rise a little and it came out very moist and delicious. I also used 3 very ripe bananas and being very ripe was important to the overall banana taste. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was a good recipie. I made it exactly as the recipie called, and the flavor was out of this world. My only complaint is that the bars never got hard. Next time I think I'll follow the ideas of the other reviewers and add a little bit of flour and a whole egg instead of 2 egg whites. Regardless, I will be making this easy recipie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This wasn't bad for a healthy treat. Only two of the five of us ate it, so that is why I rated it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This has a great taste, but it's too cakey. I would suggest no baking powder and more oats for a more granola-y affect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Hmm. Neither bf or I liked these that much. Not sure, but they don't remind me of cake or cookies, so I don't have a clue what they are. I forgot the raisins, but basically kept everything else the same. They're a little crumbly but not too bad and they're moist and chewy, but honestly, I don't know what else to say. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States